follow us on...

Brian Houshower Festival: Downingtown West wins “B” Division title to complete home sweep

Wednesday, 3rd November 2010

Categories Boy's/Men's, Posted 11/3/10

Host Downingtown West defeated Penncrest, 7-2, recently to claim the “B” Division title at the 7th annual Brian Houshower Lacrosse Festival.

The crown gave the hosts a sweep of the championships in an event that honors the memory of the former Whippet student-athlete who died seven years ago in a car accident.

Downingtown West won the Brian Houshower "B" Division crown for 2010

Click here for an article on the ‘A” Division champions.

Downingtown West opened with a 9-1 triumph over rival Downingtown East and then toppled Neshaminy, 5-2, before handling NPALA, 11-2, in the final pool play game.

Alex Atafar was a standout in goal for Downingtown West and the defense was anchored by Jake McMillan and Nick Caruso. The midfield was led by Evan Wolf, Pete Karol and Teddy Varano and the attack was sparked by Shane Wolf, Matt Logan, Dan Bednarik and Justin Halpern.

“It was an honor to stand in as the JV Coach for Downingtown West at the Brian Houshower tournament,” said Bob Peppelman. “Brian was a wonderful young man who I had the privilege to coach against when I was (coach) at Bishop Shanahan.”

Other contributors were Nate Liebsh, Mike Peppelman, Max Ajamien, Harrison Ajamien, Sean Sauder, and Tyler Lim.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines