follow us on...

Wierman (Henderson), Long (Springfield-Delco), Rahill (SCH) help Maryland down Cornell, 9-7, and close out 18-0 season, NCAA Division I championship

Monday, 30th May 2022

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 5/30/22
From Press Release

The Maryland men’s lacrosse team lives by the mantra Be The Best.’ On Memorial Day Monday, the No. 1 Terrapins showed they are the best of all-time, completing a perfect 18-0 season in winning the 2022 National Championship with a 9-7 victory over seventh-ranked Cornell at Rentschler Field.

Maryland – with key contributions by Luke Wierman (Henderson), Kyle Long (Springfield-Delco) and Matt Rahill (Springside Chestnut Hill) – set an NCAA record for most wins in a season without a loss in becoming the first undefeated NCAA men’s lacrosse champion since 2006 when Virginia finished a 17-0 campaign.

This is Maryland’s fourth NCAA title, previously winning in 1973, 1975 and 2017 and 13th overall men’s lacrosse national championship, winning nine USILA crowns.

In his final game as a Terp, Logan Wisnauskas racked up four points on two goals and two assists. He became the first Terp to record 100 points in a single season, breaking the record of 99 set by Jared Bernhardt last season. His assist on Anthony DeMaio’s first goal of the game in the first quarter set the record. DeMaio’s second goal, 48 seconds later, was the 100th tally of his career.

DeMaio led the Terps with a season-high four goals, his fifth hat trick in his last six games, all in the postseason. He added one assist for a five-point game. He scored his 100th career goal in the first quarter, as he scored the final three goals of the first quarter — in the span of 2:09 late in the quarter. He had 17 in the postseason after scoring 16 in 12 regular-season games.

The Terps’ defense was stellar all afternoon. Goalie Logan McNaney, the 2020 NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player, made 17 saves and finished with 61 saves in the NCAA Tournament.

Maryland was stifling and shutting down the Big Red much of the day. Rahill shut down the nation’s leading scorer Jack Piatelli (65 goals entering the game), limiting him to one goal and one assist. Maryland held Cornell scoreless for a span of 22:15 crossing from the second to the third quarter.

The Terps’ other goals came Jonathan Donville, Eric Malever, and Owen Prybylski.

Long had three assists. For Maryland all nine of the team’s goals were assisted including the first nine of the game. With those assists, Maryland set an NCAA record for most assists in a season by a team, surpassing the record of 204 by ALbany in 2015.

Wierman won 13 of 20 faceoffs and scooped eight groundballs. He gave the Terps enough possessions to seize a big halftime lead they would not relinquish.

Cornell finished the season 14-5. CJ Kirst led the Big Red with two goals.

Breaking Down The Action
Both defenses were strong early as no one scored for the game’s first 7:32 before Cornell’s Kirst scored. The Terps evened the game as Malever ripped a feed from Jack Brennan with 5:47 left in the first quarter.

Demaio then recorded the natrual hat trick with three goals in a span of 2:09. That put the Terps up 4-1 to end the period.

In the second quarter, Owen Prybylski scored the first goal of the season to give Maryland a 5-1 edge. Kirst got one back for Cornell before DeMaio added his fourth of the first half.

Wisnaukas got on the board just before halftime to make it 7-2 at intermission. Cornell was just 2-of-22 shooting in the first half as McNaney made 10 saves in the half. All seven of the Terps’ goals in the first half were assisted.

Wisnauskas opened the second half’s scoring and Donville scored against his former team to make it 9-2. The Terps held Cornell scoreless for 22:15 before Aiden Blake scored with 4:34 left in the third quarter.

The Terps led 9-3 after three.
In the fourth quarter, Cornell closed the gap to two at 9-7 with four straight goals.

National Champs
Maryland won its 47th National Championship in all sports.

Overall, eight different teams have won a title, with men’s lacrosse winning 12 (three NCAA and nine USILA).

The last Maryland team to win a title was women’s lacrosse in 2019, when they won their sport-record 15th crown.

In the 2000s, has won National Championships in seven sports including men’s basketball (2002), women’s basketball (2006), field hockey (2005, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2011), men’s lacrosse (2017) women’s lacrosse (2000, 2001, 2010, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2019), men’s soccer (2005, 2008, 2018), and competitive cheer (2006, 2007, 2008, 2010).

Tags: , ,


Latest Headlines