follow us on...

Sowers (@UDcardsLax) earns IL/Media Preseason First Team AA

Tuesday, 2nd February 2021

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 2/2/21
From Press Release

Inside Lacrosse announced its 2021 Preseason Media All-America teams Tuesday with six Blue Devils earning recognition. Duke landed three on the top two teams, including senior attackman/graduate transfer Michael Sowers (Upper Dublin, 1st team) and goalie Mike Adler (St. Joseph’s graduate transfer, 2nd team)

Sowers (Princeton) and Adler (Saint Joseph’s) joined the Blue Devils as graduate student transfers, using their final year of lacrosse eligibility after the cancellation of the 2020 campaign due to COVID-19.

Michael Sowers at Princeton in 2020

Sowers also was a first team All-America pick by U.S. Lacrosse Magazine and the USILA. He also was tabbed the Preseason Attackman of the Year by the magazine.

Graduating from Princeton as the program’s all-time leading scorer with 302 points (121 goals, 181 assists), Sowers led the nation in points (9.4/gm) and assists (6.2/gm) last year, both of which would have been Division I records. He broke the Ivy League single-game record for points in a game with 14 against Colgate. He had 11 assists versus the Raiders to set a Princeton single-game record. Against reigning NCAA Champion, Sowers notched four goals and four assists.

With 302 points to his name, the Dresher native has the potential to become just the second person in NCAA history to reach the 400-point plateau. Lyle Thompson currently holds the career scoring record with 400 points. Sowers’ 181 assists currently rank ninth in NCAA history and are 51 shy of breaking Pat Spencer’s record of 231. For his career, Sowers is averaging 6.4 points per game and 3.9 assists per game. He scored 80-plus points in each of his three full seasons with the Tigers and had 47 through five games in 2020.

Adler joins the Blue Devils after a standout career at Saint Joseph’s. A three-year starter in the cage, he graduated from Saint Joseph’s ranked fourth all-time in career save percentage (.569), fifth in career goals against average (9.37) and fifth in career saves (426). He was voted to the All-NEC second team in 2018 and 2019 and was the team’s pick for Outstanding Defensive Performer in 2018 and 2019 as well as the overall Most Outstanding Performer in 2018.

IL’s Preseason All-Americans
First Team
A Michael Sowers (Upper Dublin) Duke

A Chris Gray North Carolina
A Jeff Teat Cornell
M Connor Kirst Rutgers
M Brendan Curry Syracuse
M Jamie Trimboli Syracuse
FO TD Ierlan Yale
SSDM Ryan Terefenko (Wilson) Ohio State
LSM Jared Conners Virginia
D JT Giles-Harris Duke
D Gibson Smith Georgetown
D Chris Fake (Hun School-NJ) Yale
G Drake Porter Syracuse

Second Team
A Mac O’Keefe Penn State

A Jared Bernhardt Maryland
A Matt Moore (Garnet Valley) Virginia
M Dox Aitken (Haverford School) Virginia

M Jack Hannah Denver
M Sam Handley Penn
FO Kyle Gallagher Notre Dame
SSDM Peter Dearth Syracuse
LSM Ryan McNulty (Bishop Shanahan) Loyola
D Koby Smith Towson
D George Baughan (Springfield-Montco) Princeton
D Jack Kielty Notre Dame
G Mike Adler Duke

Third Team
A Jake Carraway Georgetown
A Logan Wisnauskas Maryland
A Jackson Morrill Denver
M Tanner Cook North Carolina
M Jonathan Donville Cornell
M Jeff Trainor UMass
FO Zach Cole (Lenape-NJ) Saint Joseph’s
SSDM Danny Logan Denver
LSM Sean Menges Richmond
D Arden Cohen Notre Dame
D Nick Cardile (Avon Grove) Penn State
D Marcus Hudgins Army
G Owen McElroy Georgetown

Honorable Mention
A Brendan Nichtern Army
A Asher Nolting High Point
A Chase Scanlan Syracuse
A Joey Epstein Johns Hopkins
A Tre Leclaire Ohio State
A Ethan Walker Denver
A Dyson Williams Duke
A Sean Lulley Penn
M Justin Anderson North Carolina
M Tucker Dordevic Syracuse
M Nakeie Montgomery Duke
M Bubba Fairman Maryland
M Jack Kelly Penn State
M Anthony DeMaio Maryland
M Owen Caputo Duke
FO Bailey Savio Loyola
FO Gerard Arceri Penn State
SSDM Roman Puglise Maryland
SSDM Jake Stevens Princeton
LSM Teddy Leggett Lehigh

LSM Brett Kennedy Syracuse
D Pat Kennedy Villanova
D Anthony Tangredi Lehigh
D Will Bowen North Carolina
D Kyle Kology Virginia
D Brett Makar Maryland
D Jason Reynolds (Downingtown East) Richmond
D Travis Talarico Bucknell
G Wyatt Schupler Army
G Toby Burgdorf Providence
G Phil Goss Brown

Tags: , , ,


Latest Headlines