follow us on...

Ursinus’ Atillasoy (Harriton), Gwynedd Mercy’s Ryan (Gloucester Catholic-NJ) honored by Inquirer for academics

Wednesday, 19th June 2019

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 6/19/19
From Press Releases

Ursinus College’s Hakan Atillasoy (Harriton) was selected to the Philadelphia Inquirer Men’s Lacrosse All-Academic Team.

Hakan Atillasoy

The Academic All-Area Team, voted on by the sports information offices of 30 institutions in the Philadelphia metro area, requires a student-athlete to be in their second year at the school and hold a cumulative grade-point average of 3.20 or better.

A sophomore attack, Atillasoy was an honorable mention All-Centennial Conference honoree after a prolific campaign in which he racked up 55 goals and 80 points, both of which rank second in program history for a single season. An applied economics major with a 3.93 GPA, Atillasoy was also named Academic All-Centennial for receiving both all-conference and academic honor roll recognition.

Atillasoy helped the Bears claimed their first Centennial Conference championship.

Gwynedd Mercy University men’s player Shawn Ryan (Gloucester Catholic-NJ) was named to the 2019 Philadelphia Inquirer Men’s Lacrosse All Area Academic Team. He is one of 12 student-athletes from the local Division I, II, and III institutions to be honored by the news publication.

Shawn Ryan

Ryan caps his senior season with a litany of athletic and academic awards. On the field, he was a team captain, earning a 2019 Atlantic East Men’s Lacrosse Second Team selection on defense, and helped the Griffins to the championship game of the conference tournament.

Off the field, Ryan was named the 2018-19 Gwynedd Mercy Male Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year, the Donahue-Elliot Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year, and lastly, was awarded the Outstanding Business Graduate Award at commencement. A Finance major, this award recognizes a business student who has achieved an extraordinary academic record, and has also served the University and the School of Business with distinction.

The team is nominated and voted upon by the sports information offices of the 28 institutions in the Philadelphia metropolitan area. To be eligible, a student-athlete must be in at least his or her second year at the institution and hold a cumulative grade-point average of 3.20 or better.

Ryan is the fourth player in program history to be honored. Zach Richter (2011, 2012) and Marc Bushong (2016, 2017) were two-time selections while Nico Belardo was honored in 2015. Bushong was also named the men’s lacrosse performer of the year in those two years.

Also honored were Reid Bowering of Drexel, Connor Crawford of Chestnut Hill, Ben Frost of Haverford, Adam Goldner (Malvern Prep) of Penn, Reid Junkin of Penn, Keegan Khan of Villanova, Simon Mathias of Penn, Jake Newswanger (St. Elizabeth-DE) of Neumann, Nick Vass of Cabrini, and Nick Vernacchio (Upper Dublin) of Saint Joseph’s. Junkin and Mathias were selected co-performers of the year.

Tags: , , ,


Latest Headlines