follow us on... 2015 Honorable Mention Coaches of the Year

Friday, 1st January 2016

Categories, Boy's/Men's, Girl's/Women's, Posted 1/1/16 salutes the 2015 Honorable Mention Coaches of the Year:

Boys TeamsAll Phillylacrosse

Mike Sharman, Central Bucks South: Sharman led a team that was 2-15 in the year before he arrived (2012) and led them to a share of the Suburban One Continental Conference title.

Tom Lemieux, Springfield-Delco: Lemieux guided the Cougars to the District 1 championship after a 2-3 start.

John Begier, Radnor:
Begier took the Raiders to their first PIAA championship, winning 11-10 over St. Joseph’s Prep in overtime.

Andy German, St. Joseph’s Prep: German, who later took a college assistant job after his rookie season, led the Hawks to the PIAA finals where they fell to Radnor in overtime.

Girls’ teams

Jenny Purvis, Garnet Valley: Purvis took a team that lost a large senior class from a PIAA championship in 2014 and guided the Jaguars to a second straight state title despite coming from the fifth seed in District 1 and as the No. 6 finisher in the Central League.

Kim Wenger, Great Valley: Wenger, a rookie coach, led the Patriots to the District 1 title and the Ches-Mont league championship.

Joe Tornetta, Owen J. Roberts: Tornetta led the Wildcats to a 19-2 season and the Pioneer Athletic Conference, breaking a long streak of titles by Boyertown.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.