follow us on...

Women’s honors: Philly players win all three major Ivy League awards

Friday, 3rd May 2013

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 5/3/13
From Press Release

It is the beginning of a new era in Ivy League women’s lacrosse.

The postseason awards have changed, as the League’s eight coaches now vote on Attacker of the Year, Midfielder of the Year and Defender of the Year. No surprise, the first three such honors went to three of the four teams that will compete in the 2013 Ivy League Women’s Lacrosse Tournament.

Princeton sophomore Erin McMunn (Westminster, Md.)
will go down in history as the last Ivy player to earn Rookie of the Year honors, as she took home the award last season. She will also go down in the record books as the first Ivy player to earn one of the League’s postseason award the season following her Rookie of the Year selection, as she has been voted Attacker of the Year.

McMunn, who was also a unanimous selection for first-team All-Ivy, led her team with 64 points on a career-high 37 goals along with 27 assists. She ranks second in the League in assists and assists per game and tied for fifth in goals and goals per game. She was named Offensive Player of the Week a League-best three times this season. She takes home her second-straight All-Ivy honor, as she was named to the second team in 2012.

Not only did Penn junior Shannon Mangini (Garden City, N.Y.)
receive her first career All-Ivy honor, as she was unanimously voted to the first team, she also earned her first career major postseason honor, as she was named Midfielder of the Year.

Mangini finished the regular season with 24 points on 22 goals and two assists, along with 25 groundballs, 17 draw controls and 12 caused turnovers. Mangini saved some of her best play for late in games, as her three overtime goals in 2013 marks the most in a single season since Princeton’s Jaci Gassaway netted three in 2011.

Cornell senior Kate Ivory (Episcopal Academy)
did not play her junior year after suffering a major knee injury, but she made up for lost time this season, setting career-highs in groundballs (47) and caused turnovers (32). Her previous highs were 37 groundballs and 23 caused turnovers, set in 2011.

Ivory ranks tied for third in the country in groundballs and sixth in the nation in caused turnovers, making her a fairly easy choice for Defender of the Year. She tallied at least three groundballs 12 times this season and at least two caused turnovers on 10 separate occasions.

Ivory is yet another unanimous first-team All-Ivy selection, marking the second time she has earned first team honors (2011).

The 2013 Ivy League Women’s Lacrosse Tournament kicks off on Friday, May 3, at Penn’s Franklin Field. In the first semifinal at 4 p.m., third-seed Dartmouth will face second-seed Princeton, followed by fourth-seed Cornell at the top-seeded Quakers at 7 p.m. Fans can also watch the action live on

Erin McMunn, Princeton (So. – Westminster, Md.)

Shannon Mangini, Penn (Jr. – Garden City, N.Y.)

Kate Ivory, Cornell (Sr. – Narberth, Pa.)

Hana Bowers, Dartmouth (Sr., A – Old Greenwich, Conn.)
Micaela Cyr, Harvard (Sr., A – Lexington, Mass.)
Nicole Daniggelis, Yale (Fr., A – St. James, N.Y.)
Bre Hudgins, Brown (Jr., A – Syracuse, N.Y.)
*Kacie Johnson, Columbia (Sr., A – Wilton, Conn.)
Erin McMunn, Princeton (So., A – Westminster, Md.)
Lindsay Toppe, Cornell (So., A – Bedford, N.Y.)
Courtney Bennett, Dartmouth (Sr., M – Darien, Conn.)
*Sarah Lloyd, Princeton (Jr., M – Severna Park, Md.)
*Shannon Mangini, Penn (Jr., M – Garden City, N.Y.)
*Kate Ivory, Cornell (Sr., D – Episcopal Academy, Pa.)

*Meg Markham, Penn (So., D – Manhasset, N.Y.)
*Caroline Rehfuss, Princeton (Sr., D – Latham, N.Y.)
*Lucy Ferguson, Penn (So., GK – Montclair, N.J.)

Meredith Cain, Penn (Sr., A – Pittsburgh)
Devon Rhodes, Yale (Sr., A – East Northport, N.Y.)
Caroline Salisbury, Cornell (Sr., A – Middletown, Md.)
Abby Bunting, Brown (So., M – Wellesley, Mass.)
Paige Cuscovitch, Columbia (Jr., M – Longmeadow, Mass.)
Maddie Poplawski, Penn (Sr., M – Springfield-Delco)
Audrey Todd, Harvard (Fr., M – Baltimore)
Liz Bannantine, Princeton (Fr., D – Baltimore)
Mariel Jenkins, Harvard (Sr., D – Belle Mead, N.J.)
Kelsey Johnson, Dartmouth (Sr., D – Hingham, Mass.)
Erin Roos, Brown (Jr., D – Wilmette, Ill.)
Caroline Franke, Princeton (Jr., GK – Annapolis, Md.)

Liz Calby, Dartmouth (Jr., A – Darien, Conn.)
Caroline Bunting, Penn (Sr., A – Wellesley, Mass.)
Danielle Tetreault, Harvard (Sr., M – Guilderland, N.Y.)
Kelly Buechel, Columbia (Sr., M – South Orange, N.J.)
Sarah Hefner, Cornell (So., M – Bel Air, Md.)
Kristen Giovanniello, Dartmouth (Jr., GK – Old Brookville, N.Y.)

* Unanimous Selection
^ Due to ties in voting, the first team expanded to 14


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines