follow us on...

Friends’ Schools League boys’ championship: Shipley School tops ANC, 15-6, for third straight title

Friday, 20th May 2011

Categories Boy's/Men's, High School, Posted 5/20/11

Mike Litner had five goals and four assists and Julius Mouser added three goals and two assists to lead host Shipley School to a 15-6 victory over Academy of the New Church today, giving the Gators their third straight Friends Schools League championship.

Shipley finished its season at 16-3 and won its 21st consecutive league game. The Gators also reached the second round of the Inter-Ac Invitational before being eliminated Wednesday by Malvern Prep.

Mattock Callahan scored three goals for Shipley while Andrew Wofford scored twice and Mac Gallagher had a goal and four assists and Mike Gagner added a goal and two assists. Gore Kamara led the defense with seven groundballs and Ian McGibbon made five saves to gain the victory in the goal.

Standout defense also was supplied by Evan Romano, Eric Loreaux, Steve Gentry, Will Todd, Jamie Piltch, Mike Gagnier, Luke Massengill, Maz Obuz, Jon Messerschmidt and Nick Piasecki as the Gators raced to a 6-0 first-period lead.

Litner finished the season with 100 pts (59 goals) and Mouser closed his brilliant career with 199 goals and the school’s all-time leading scorer. Mouser finished the year with 97 points and a school-record 68 goals.

Gallagher closed with 60 points (35 goals) and was a key at the face-off X along with Romano, Mouser and Piltch. Also contributing to the title-game win were today were James Lee, Dan Gordon, Carter Burch, Ian Mercier, Brian Sy and Jimi Demi-ajayi.

ANC finished 12-8.

Shipley School
Mike Litner 5g, 4a
Julius Mouser 3g, 2a
Mac Gallagher 1g, 4a
Mattock Callahan 3g
Matt Gagnier 1g, 2a
Andrew Wofford 2g
Gore Kamara 7 GB
Ian McGibbon 5 saves
Chris Gaulin 1 save



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines