follow us on...

Temple women’s lacrosse team named as Merit Academic Squad by IWLCA

Saturday, 21st August 2010

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 8/21/10
From Press Releases

Temple lacrosse is one of 51 Division I teams to be recognized as a Merit Squad or Academic Squad by the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA). The Owls have now earned Academic Squad distinction for the fourth straight year.

The IWLCA recognized three schools as earning Merit Squad status while 48 others earned Academic Squad honors for the 2010 season. Institutions were named Merit Squads by virtue of having one of the top three team GPAs for the season; every school with a team GPA of 3.0 or higher earned Academic Squad honors.

The honor caps off a successful year for Temple both on and off the field. The Owls finished 7-10 overall and earned a berth in the four-team Atlantic 10 Tournament.

Twenty lacrosse student-athletes were named to the TU Director’s Honor Roll this year, and three were named to the President’s Honor Roll. Junior Ann Stouffer was named to the TU Trustee Ten, and was also named to the Philadelphia Inquirer Academic All-Area Team.

Seven Owls earned A-10 postseason honors including three who were named to the A-10 All-Academic Team; Chelsea Rosiek (Wissahickon), Missy Schweitzer (owen J. Roberts) and Stouffer.

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines