follow us on...

Philly men, women named as Tewaaraton Award nominees

Thursday, 21st April 2022

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 4/21/22
From Press Release

The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2022 men’s and women’s Tewaaraton Award Nominees Presented by AXIA Time. The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are comprised of premier college coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be selected from these groups, to be announced in three weeks at the conclusion of the regular season.).

25 men’s nominees:
Will Bowen, Georgetown – Grad. Student, Defense
Matt Brandau, Yale – Jr., Attack
Graham Bundy Jr., Georgetown – Jr., Midfield
Zach Cole (Lenape), Saint Joseph’s – Sr., Face Off
Tucker Dordevic, Syracuse – Sr., Midfield
Chris Gray, North Carolina – Grad. Student, Attack
Sam Handley, Pennsylvania – Sr., Midfield
Jack Hannah, Denver – Grad. Student, Midfield
Cole Kastner, Virginia – Soph., Defense
Patrick Kavanagh, Notre Dame – Jr., Attack
Colin Kirst, Rutgers – Grad. Student, Goalie
Ryan Lanchbury, Richmond – Grad. Student, Attack
Brett Makar, Maryland – Sr., Defense
Owen McElroy, Georgetown – Grad. Student, Goalie
Jack Myers, Ohio State – Sr., Attack
Brendan Nichtern, Army West Point – Sr., Attack
Asher Nolting, High Point – Grad. Student, Attack
Brennan O’Neill, Duke – Soph., Attack
Erik Peters, Princeton – Sr., Goalie
John Piatelli, Cornell – Sr., Attack
Ross Scott, Rutgers – Jr., Attack
Connor Shellenberger, Virginia – Soph., Attack
Mike Sisselberger (Southern Lehigh), Lehigh – Sr., Face Off
Luke Wierman (Henderson), Maryland – Jr., Face Off

Logan Wisnauskas, Maryland – Fifth Year Senior, Attack

This year’s list of women’s Tewaaraton Award Nominees Presented by AXIA Time features players from 15 different schools, led by North Carolina with four and Maryland with three. In all, 10 players return from the 2021 list of nominees, including last year’s winner Charlotte North (Boston College), and returning finalists Taylor Moreno (UNC) and Jamie Ortega (UNC).

25 women’s nominees:
Catriona Barry, Duke – Grad. Student, Attack
Abby Bosco, Maryland – Grad. Student, Defense
Sarah Cooper, Syracuse – Sr., Defense
Aurora Cordingley, Maryland – Grad. Student, Attack
Katie Detwiler (Archbishop Carroll), Loyola – Sr., Defense
Lauren Gilbert, Northwestern – Grad. Student, Attack
Jill Girardi, Northwestern – Grad. Student, Midfield
Maddie Jenner, Duke – Sr., Attack
Ellie Masera, Stony Brook – Soph., Midfield
Ally Mastroianni, North Carolina – Grad. Student, Midfield
Taylor Moreno, North Carolina – Grad. Student, Goalie
Charlotte North, Boston College – Grad. Student, Attack
Jamie Ortega, North Carolina – Sr., Attack
Danielle Pavinelli, Florida – Soph., Attack
Isabella Peterson, James Madison – Soph., Attack
Livy Rosenzweig, Loyola – Grad. Student, Attack
Kyla Sears, Princeton – Sr., Attack
Belle Smith, Boston College – Soph., Midfield
Cassidy Spilis (Seneca), Rutgers – Jr., Midfield
Emily Sterling, Maryland – Jr., Goalie
Sam Thacker, Denver – Jr., Defense
Emma Trenchard, North Carolina – Sr., Defense
Meaghan Tyrrell, Syracuse – Sr., Attack
Sydney Watson, UConn – 5th year, Midfield
Arielle Weissman, Michigan – Grad. Student, Goalie

The 2022 Tewaaraton Watch Lists Presented by AXIA Time were first unveiled Feb. 10, with additions announced March 10 and April 1. The five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced in early May and will be invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony in Washington, D.C., on June 2.


Latest Headlines