follow us on...

College post-season honors: Siena senior McNeely (Strath Haven) earns MAAC Offensive Player of the Year

Wednesday, 4th May 2022

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 5/4/22
From Press Release

For the first time in Siena program history, the MAAC Offensive Player of the Year comes from Loudonville, as women’s lacrosse fifth-year Nicole McNeely (Strath Haven) was named the league’s top offensive player, with her and six other Saints earning All-MAAC selections.

Nicole McNeely

McNeely also earned First Team accolades, along with graduate student Emily Fiorillo. McNeely was named All-MAAC First Team on attack, while Fiorillo earned a spot on defense. On the second team midfield is senior Mary Soures, with junior Jenna Colabufo on defense. The Saints also had three MAAC All-Rookie team selections in Jordan Bentley, Meghan Decker, and Grace Dobrzynski.

After not receiving an All-MAAC selection a year ago, McNeely becomes the first in program history to win the Offensive Player of the Year award. She did earn Preseason All-MAAC honors, and has lived up to the billing. She currently ranks sixth nationally in assists (38) and 15th in assists per game (2.24) – while also coming up 11th nationally in points (83).

The Wallingford native is top-9 in the MAAC in ground balls per game (3rd, 2.65), draw controls (4th, 4.82), and free position percentage (9th, .450). She has broken Siena’s career records for goals, assists, and points this season, while also breaking or eclipsing the previous single-season records in all three categories as well. She was recognized by USA Lacrosse Magazine as having one of the more “efficient” games in NCAA Division I in the last five years with her five goal, two assist, six ground ball, four draw control game against Colgate. McNeely became the first player in program history to reach 200 career points, and was twice named MAAC Offensive Player of the Week.

The full list of All-MAAC Teams and major awards winners are below.

2022 Women’s Lacrosse Major Awards
Offensive Player of the YearNicole McNeely (Strath Haven)Siena
Defensive Player of the YearAndrea LiottaManhattan
Midfielder of the YearCassidy OrbanMonmouth
Goalkeeper of the YearMichelle Messenger*Niagara
Rookie of the YearKira VaradaIona
Coach of the YearJordan TrautmanMonmouth
All-MAAC First Team
Katie SmolenskySr.AttackCanisius
Grace LipponerSr.AttackManhattan
Caroline BrennanFr.AttackMonmouth
Nicole McNeely5Y.AttackSiena
Skylar McArthurSr.MidfieldCanisius
Kelly HorningGr.MidfieldFairfield
Cassidy OrbanGr.MidfieldMonmouth
Caroline ManganSr.DefenseFairfield
Andrea Liotta*Jr.DefenseManhattan
Clare McCooeFr.DefenseManhattan
TaNia CunninghamSr.DefenseNiagara
Emily FiorilloGr.DefenseSiena
Michelle MessengerSr.GoalkeeperNiagara
All-MAAC Second Team
Elizabeth Talluto (Shipley School)Jr.AttackFairfield
Kerri GutenbergerJr.AttackMarist
Lexi BraineckiSo.AttackNiagara
Lois GarlowJr.AttackNiagara
Paige StachuraJr.MidfieldCanisius
Nicollette LaVistaSr.MidfieldFairfield
Kira VaradaFr.MidfieldIona
Mary SouresSr.MidfieldSiena
Carly YoungSr.DefenseIona
Bri FalcoJr.DefenseMonmouth
Shannon FeeleyJr.DefenseMonmouth
Jenna ColabufoJr.DefenseSiena
Kat HenselderJr.GoalkeeperQuinnipiac
MAAC All-Rookie Team
Sarah KilburnFr.MidfieldCanisius
Carly LinthicumFr.MidfieldIona
Kira Varada*Fr.MidfieldIona
Clare McCooe*Fr.DefenseManhattan
Chloe BirckheadFr.MidfieldMarist
Sophia GeorgopoulosFr.DefenseMarist
Caroline Brennan*Fr.AttackMonmouth
Danielle McNeely (Strath Haven)Fr.MidfieldMonmouth
Ella SpearsFr.AttackMonmouth
Jaclyn CraneFr.MidfieldNiagara
Ellagrace Delmond1Y.MidfieldQuinnipiac
Jordan Bentley*Fr.MidfieldSiena
Meghan DeckerFr.MidfieldSiena
Grace Dobrzynski*Fr.AttackSiena



Latest Headlines