follow us on...

Three from Philly named as candidates for pretigious 2021 Senior CLASS Award

Thursday, 4th March 2021

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 3/4/21
From Press Release

Three Philly athletes are among the 20 elite NCAA® men’s lacrosse student-athletes who excel both on and off the field and were selected as candidates today for the 2021 Senior CLASS Award®.

Tht three include Lehigh’s Conor Gaffney (Lenape) and Teddy Leggett and Ohio State’s Ryan Terefenko (Wilson).

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character, and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced in conjunction with the 2021 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse National Championship in May.

For more information on all the candidates, visit

Lacrosse 2021 Candidates
Name Position School

Alex Akins Defense University of Detroit Mercy
Michael Altmann Defense/Long Stick Midfield Hofstra University
Charlie Bertrand Attack University of Virginia
Jake Carraway Attack Georgetown University
Jonathan Donville Midfield Cornell University
Ryan Frawley Attack University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Conor Gaffney (Lenape) Midfield/Forward Lehigh University
Chris Gray Attack University of North Carolina
Luke Hanson Midfield Manhattan College
Jeff Henrick Long Stick Midfield Ohio State University
Tre Leclaire Attack Ohio State University
Teddy Leggett Long Stick Midfield/Defense Lehigh University
Kieran Mullins Attack Rutgers University
Jimmy Perkins Attack Robert Morris University
Drake Porter Goalie Syracuse University
Michael Quinn Midfield Mercer University
Stephen Rehfuss Attack Syracuse University
Ryan Smith Attack Robert Morris University
Ryan Terefenko (Wilson) Short Stick Defensive Midfield Ohio State University
Jamie Trimboli Midfield Syracuse University

Tags: , , , ,


Latest Headlines