follow us on...

Temple lands four on AAC Preseason All-Conference Team; many other Philly women tabbed

Tuesday, 9th February 2021

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 2/9/21
From Press Release

Four Owls were voted to the Preseason All-Conference Team, with Meghan Hoffman, Belle Mastropietro (Springfield-Delco), Courtney Taylor (Central Bucks South), and Bridget Whitaker (Springfield-Delco) being tabbed. The team is projected to finish third in the conference, as voted on by league coaches.

Hoffman is utilizing a fifth year of eligibility granted by the NCAA due to the 2020 season being cut short because of the COVID-19 pandemic, while Taylor and Whitaker are entering their final seasons in Cherry and White.

Whitaker has had a stellar career in her three seasons at Temple. In 2018 she was named First-Team All-AAC and was also named to the AAC All-Tournament team. Last season she was on track for another season of accolades, being named to the AAC Weekly Honor Roll three times before the season was suspended. The Springfield, Pa. native ranked second on the team in goals (16) and draw controls (32).

Hoffman saw action in all nine games last season with eight starts, leading the team in both points (26) and assists (12). She ranked seventh in the conference in assists per game (1.25) and was named to the All AAC-Academic Team.

Taylor returns to lead the backline for the Owls, looking to build on a strong 2019 campaign that saw her earn Second-Team All-AAC honors. The defender led the team in caused turnovers last season with 15 and tied to lead the team in ground balls (21).

Mastropietro made an outsized impact as a freshman last season. The midfielder led the team in four statistical categories, including goals (20), and shots on goal (37). Her 2.12 goals per game average ranked seventh in the league, and she earned AAC Freshman of the Week honors on March 9. The Springfield, Pa. native posted five goals in a game twice and was third on the team in draw controls with 28.

Florida was voted as the front-runner to win the conference title, earning five out of a possible six first-place votes following an impressive 2020 season highlighted by a win at #1 Maryland. The Gators also lead all teams with six All-Conference selections. Vanderbilt takes second place with 19 total points. Temple follows closely behind with 17 points including one first-place vote. Cincinnati finished in fourth (14 points), followed by East Carolina (10 points). Old Dominion rounds out the group with 5 points.

Temple will open its 2021 season at Delaware on February 20 as they take on the Blue Hens.

2021 American Athletic Conference Women’s Lacrosse Preseason Coaches’ Poll
Team, first place votes, points

Florida (5)- 25
Vanderbilt – 19
Temple (1) – 17
Cincinnati – 14
East Carolina – 10
Old Dominion – 5

2021 American Athletic Conference Preseason Attack Player of the Year
Brianna Harris, Florida, *

2021 American Athletic Conference Preseason Midfielder of the Year
Shannon Kavanagh, Florida *

2021 American Athletic Conference Preseason Defensive Players of the Year
Morgan Dukes, Cincinnati
Cara Trombetta, Florida

2021 American Athletic Conference Preseason Goalkeeper of the Year
Sarah Reznick, Florida *

2021 American Athletic Conference Women’s Lacrosse Preseason All-Conference Team
Alyssa Adams, M, Cincinnati
Monica Borzillo (Conestoga), A, Cincinnati *
Morgan Dukes, D, Cincinnati
Peyton Mottice (Downingtown West), M, Cincinnati
Liz Blumthal, D, East Carolina
Nicole LeGar, M, East Carolina
Kaitlyn Dabkowski, D, Florida
Brianna Harris, A, Florida, *
Grace Haus, A, Florida
Shannon Kavanagh, M, Florida *
Sarah Reznick, G, Florida
Cara Trombetta, D, Florida *
Madison Corcoran, D, Old Dominion
Lilly Siskind (Henderson), A, Old Dominion
Meghan Hoffman, A, Temple
Belle Mastropietro (Springfield-Delco), M, Temple
Courtney Taylor (Central Bucks South), D, Temple
Bridget Whitaker (Springfield-Delco), M, Temple
Gabby Fornia (Lenape-NJ), A, Vanderbilt *

Brianne Gross, M, Vanderbilt
Melissa Hawkins, D, Vanderbilt
Halle Regan, D, Vanderbilt

  • unanimous selection
From left, Temple’s Meghan Hoffman, Belle Mastropietro, Courtney Taylor, Bridget Whitaker

Tags: , ,


Latest Headlines