follow us on...

Philly women named to US Lacrosse/Blaxers Blog All-Black Team

Friday, 26th February 2021

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 2/26/21 – From Press Release

Two Temple lacrosse all-time greats were named to US Lacrosse’s “All-Black Team.” Former player Nicole Ross Burris was named to the women’s lacrosse team as a midfielder. Former coach Tina Sloan Green (Girls’ High) was honored both as a player for her time at West Chester University and as the sole coach of the team for her time at Temple.

Temple’s Nicole Ross Burris (left) and Tina Sloan Green

In celebration of Black History Month, and in partnership with Blaxers Blog, the All-Black Team is celebrating over 50 Black men and women who have accomplished great feats on the field at the college and professional levels.

Burris played midfield for Temple from 1995-1999. She was a three-year starter for the Owls and a member of three NCAA tournament teams. Throughout her career, she scored 145 goals, fired 300 shots (fifth-most all-time), and picked up 166 ground balls (third-most all-time). Burris is best remembered for her outstanding 1999 season. She scored 67 goals (tied for fifth-most in a single season) and was named Atlantic 10 Most Outstanding Player of Championship, A-10 Player of the Year, and Second Team All-American. She was inducted into the Temple Athletics Hall of Fame in 2020.

Green is one of the greatest lacrosse coaches of all time. She was at the helm for Temple from 1975-1992. Green is the only Temple coach in any sport to win three national titles, leading the Owls to two NCAA titles and one AIWA title. In 18 seasons, she compiled an outstanding 207-62-4 record with a .758 career winning percentage. The crown jewel of her run as Temple coach came in 1988 when she led the lacrosse team to a perfect 19-0 record and a national championship. Her teams won 29 straight games between the 1983-84 and ’84-’85 seasons. Green has been inducted into the Temple Athletics Hall of Fame (1994), US National Lacrosse Hall of Fame (1997), the International Women’s Sports Hall of Fame (1999), and the Philadelphia Sports Hall of Fame (2013).

Cherie Greer Brown – daughter of NBA Hall of Famer Hal Greer – was a standout at Harriton High and enjoyed an All-American collegiate career at the University of Virginia while helping the Cavaliers capture NCAA championships in 1991 and 1993. Greer earned first team All-America honors as a midfielder in 1992, 1993 and 1994.

Incredibly, she was named the NCAA Division I Defensive Player of the Year in 1994, the same season that she also led the nation in scoring with 61 goals and 18 assists.

Greer made her first International splash still in college, earning a spot on the 1993 U.S. Women’s World Cup team that captured gold in Edinburgh, Scotland. She added a second gold medal in 1997 in Japan and a third in 2001 in England. She was named the most outstanding player of the championship game in both 1997 and 2001.

In 2000, she was named a member of Lacrosse Magazine’s All-Century Team.

Midfield-defender Regina Oliver Thomas – head coach at Cincinnati – was a standout at Pottstown High and then at Ohio State. Regina Oliver, was a two-time All-American, and  ended her Ohio State career as one of the most decorated players in the women’s lacrosse program’s history.

She was inducted into the OSU Athletic Hall of Fame in 2010.  As a standout midfielder, Oliver concluded her career in 2004 with the career caused turnover record (201) and owns the Top 4 spots in the single-season totals from each of her four seasons. In addition to All-America honors from each major publication, she was a finalist for the 2004 Tewaaraton Trophy, as well as the 2003 American Lacrosse Conference Player of the Year after earning Rookie of the Year honors in 2002.

Oliver was selected to the 2009 Federation of International Lacrosse World Cup Team, which unseated Australia on the strength of an 8-7 victory over Australia in the gold medal game. .

Women’s Team
A – Bre Hudgins, Brown (2011-14)
A/M – Elaine Jones, Virginia (1989-92)
A – Kole Pollock, Adelphi (2017-Pres.)
M – Demianne Cook, Adelphi (2010-11)/Stony Brook (2012-13)
M – Cherie Greer Brown (Harriton), Virginia (1991-94)
M – Felicia Mills, Adelphi (2012-15)
M – Taylor Thornton, Northwestern (2009-12)
M/D – Gina Oliver Thomas (Pottstown), Ohio State (2002-05)
D – Jazmine Norton, North Carolina (2000-03)
D – Jessy Morgan, Virginia (2004-07)
D – Kinsley O’Garrow, George Mason (1997-2000)
G – Britt Brown, Penn (2014-17)
Player/Coach – Tina Sloan Green, West Chester (1964-67)

Honorable Mention: Joey Coffey, Cornell (2015-18); Karen Healy-Silcott, Syracuse (1999-2002); Marissa Hudgins, Brown (2015-18); Kimberly Lowe, Ohio State (2000-03); Ginger Miles, Virginia (2003-06); Marissa Mills, Adelphi (2009-12); Nicole Ross Burris, Temple (1996-99); Spring Sanders, Northwestern (2013-16); Paris Waterman, Brown (2008-11); Sydney Watson, Connecticut (2018-Pres.).


Latest Headlines