follow us on...

.@PennMensLax will seek to defend Ivy League title at Hofstra

Monday, 27th January 2020

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 1/27/20
From Press Release

The University of Pennsylvania men’s lacrosse team won the Ivy League Tournament for the second time last May at Columbia’s Wien Stadium. If the Quakers are going to defend their crown, they will have to do it in another part of New York. On Thursday, the Ivy League announced that the 2020 Men’s Lacrosse Tournament will be held at Hofstra University’s James M. Shuart Stadium in Hempstead, N.Y.

The Ivy League Tournament consists of the top four teams from the regular-season standings, with semifinals scheduled for Friday, May 1 (6 and 8:30 p.m.) and the championship game on Sunday, May 3 at noon.

Ticket information and packages will be released in the near future.

“We are incredibly excited to bring one of the nation’s top conference tournaments to one of the sport’s most passionate locations,” Ivy League Executive Director Robin Harris said. “We appreciate Hofstra welcoming the Ivy League and our fans for the weekend and look forward to showcasing our league on Long Island.”

The site of several NCAA games throughout its history, Shuart Stadium also will be one of the quarterfinal sites this year—the fourth straight year Hofstra has hosted quarterfinal weekend—along with Brown Stadium in Providence.

Heading into this season, three Ivy League men’s lacrosse squads are nationally-ranked and 14 Ivies were recently named Inside Lacrosse Preseason All-Americans.

Penn followed up its undefeated run to the Ivy League’s regular-season title with the Tournament victory, the Quakers’ first since 2014. The Ivy League then received multiple bids in the NCAA Tournament for the 10th time in the last 11 years, and the Quakers faced off with Yale in one of the most dramatic NCAA quarterfinal games in NCAA history before falling in overtime to the Bulldogs, 19-18.

Since the NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championship began in 1971, the Ivy League has won 10 national championships and had 27 Championship Weekend teams.



Latest Headlines