follow us on...

Five Philly men – including Ament, Gaffney, Pettit – named as candidates for Senior CLASS Award

Friday, 21st February 2020

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 2/21/20
From Press Release

Twenty of the top NCAA men’s lacrosse student-athletes who excel both on and off the field – five being from Philly – were selected as candidates today for the 2020 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate lacrosse. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced in conjunction with the 2020 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse National Championship in May.

Lacrosse 2020 Candidates
Name Position School

Grant Ament (Haverford School) Attack Penn State
Jared Bernhardt Attack Maryland
Jake Carraway Attack Georgetown
Zach Coffey Long Stick Midfield Bryant University
Bryan Costabile Midfield Notre Dame
Matt DeLuca Goalie University of Delaware
Ryan Frawley Attack UMBC
Conor Gaffney (Lenape-NJ) Faceoff Lehigh University
Phil Goss Goalie Brown
Tim Hinrichs Midfield Providence College
Eric Holden Attack Hobart College
TD Ierlan Face-Off Specialist Yale
Colby Kneese Goalie Penn State
Michael Kraus Attack University of Virginia
Sean Menges Long Stick Midfield University of Richmond
Kieran Mullins Attack Rutgers
Andrew Pettit (Tower Hill-DE) Attack Lehigh University
Brandon Salvatore Long Stick Midfield Cornell University
Peyton Smith Face-Off Specialist Marist College
Ryan Tierney Attack Hofstra University

Tags: , , , , , ,


Latest Headlines