follow us on...

Philly women named to All-Ivy League team

Thursday, 2nd May 2019

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 5/2/19
From Press Release

The three ranked Ivy League programs were represented among the League’s women’s lacrosse postseason award winners following a vote of the League’s eight head coaches.

Penn’s Katy Junior

Princeton senior Elizabeth George was unanimously selected as the Attacker of the Year, Penn junior Erin Barry was named the Midfielder of the Year, Princeton senior Nonie Andersen claimed Defender of the Year honors and Princeton sophomore Sam Fish earned Goalkeeper of the Year accolades.

Dartmouth head coach Danielle Spencer and Princeton head coach Chris Sailer (Haverford High) were dubbed Co-Coaches of the Year for the second-straight season. Spencer led the Big Green to their first Ivy League women’s lacrosse championship since 2011, while Sailer coached the Tigers to their sixth-straight.

George owns 68 points—via 47 goals and 21 assists—on the year. She is the lone Ivy to rank among the top six in the League in goals, assists, points and draw controls.

Barry contributed to a Penn defense that allowed a League-low 9.45 goals per game, while posting 33 points (28 G, 5 A) on the offensive end. The Manhasset, N.Y., native also tallied 32 draw controls, 28 ground balls and 14 caused turnovers.

Andersen registered a career-high 53 draw controls and 13 caused turnovers during her senior campaign. The Glenview, Ill., product also secured 21 ground balls and accounted for three points (2 G, 1 A).

Fish compiled a 10.51 goals-against average and a .473 save percentage this season, accumulating 138 saves in 879:11 of game action. The San Diego, Calif., product held opponents to 15-or-fewer goals in all 15 games this season. She leads the League with 9.20 saves per game and also ranks among the top three in the conference in goals-against average and save percentage.

In her third season at the helm, Spencer led Dartmouth to its first Ivy League title since 2011 and its 12th all-time. The Big Green will be appearing in back-to-back Ivy League Women’s Lacrosse Tournaments for the first time since a four-year run from 2010-13.

In her 33rd season leading the Princeton program, Sailer coached the Tigers to their sixth-straight Ivy League championship and League-leading 15th overall—all coming during her storied tenure. The Tigers are also the No. 1 seed in the Ivy League Women’s Lacrosse Tournament for the fourth time in the event’s 10-year history.

Perennial contenders Penn and Princeton paced the League with seven All-Ivy recipients each, headlined by four First Team selections. Penn’s First Team honorees were junior attacker Gabby Rosenzweig, sophomore attacker Zoe Belodeau, junior midfielder Barry and senior defender Katy Junior. Senior attacker George, sophomore attacker Kyla Sears, senior defender Andersen and sophomore goalkeeper Fish represented Ivy League champion Princeton on the First Team.

Ivy League champion Dartmouth claimed three First Team slots and six overall, with senior attacker Kierra Sweeney, senior midfielder Elizabeth Mastrio and senior midfielder Kathryn Giroux earning First Team recognition.

Tournament qualifier Cornell—junior attacker Caroline Allen and junior defender Mary Kate Bonanni—also had multiple First Team All-Ivy recipients.

Brown sophomore attacker Risa Mosenthal, Columbia senior midfielder Lindsey Ewertsen and Harvard senior attacker Keeley MacAfee also reaped First Team mention. Senior attacker Izzy Nixon and sophomore midfielder Sam Higgins claimed Second Team honors for Yale.

Rosenzweig, George, Sears, Ewertsen, Giroux and Barry were unanimous First Team honorees.

ATTACKER OF THE YEAR – Elizabeth George, Princeton (Sr., A – Lutherville, Md.)

MIDFIELDER OF THE YEAR- Erin Barry, Penn (Jr., M – Manhasset, N.Y.)

DEFENDER OF THE YEAR – Nonie Andersen, Princeton (Sr., D – Glenview, Ill.)

GOALKEEPER OF THE YEAR – Sam Fish, Princeton (So., G – San Diego Calif.)

CO-COACHES OF THE YEAR- Danielle Spencer, Dartmouth,
Chris Sailer (Haverford High), Princeton

Risa Mosenthal, Brown (So., A – Campton, N.H.)
Caroline Allen (Academy of Notre Dame), Cornell (Jr., A – Ardmore, Pa.)
Kierra Sweeney, Dartmouth (Sr., A – Oakton, Va.)
Keeley MacAfee, Harvard (Sr., A – Needham, Mass.)
Gabby Rosenzweig, Penn (Jr., A – Somers, N.Y.)
Zoe Belodeau, Penn (So., A – Potomac Falls, Va.)
Elizabeth George, Princeton (Sr., A – Lutherville, Md.)
Kyla Sears, Princeton (So., A – Skaneateles, N.Y.)

Lindsey Ewertsen, Columbia (Sr., M – Montclair, N.J.)
Elizabeth Mastrio, Dartmouth (Sr., M – Wilbraham, Mass.)
Kathryn Giroux, Dartmouth (Sr., M – Summit, N.J.)
Erin Barry, Penn (Jr., M – Manhasset, N.Y.)
Mary Kate Bonanni, Cornell (Jr., D – Liverpool, N.Y.)
Katy Junior (Radnor), Penn (Sr., D – Wayne, Pa.)
Nonie Andersen, Princeton (Sr., D – Glenview, Ill.)
Sam Fish, Princeton (So., G – San Diego Calif.)

Kellen D’Alleva, Dartmouth (Sr., A – Manhasset, N.Y.)
Grace Hulslander, Harvard (Fr., A – Jamesville, N.Y.)
Tess D’Orsi, Princeton (Jr., A – Sudbury, Mass.)
Izzy Nixon, Yale (Sr., A – Greenwich, Conn.)
Zoe Verni, Brown (Sr., M – Mamaroneck, N.Y.)
Ellie Walsh, Cornell (So., M – Bronxville, N.Y.)
Katie Bourque, Dartmouth (Jr., M – Ridgewood, N.J.)
Abby Bosco, Penn (So., M – Suffern, N.Y.)
Kathryn Hallett, Princeton (Sr., M – Manhasset, N.Y.)

Sam Higgins, Yale (So., M – Shoreham, N.Y.)
Mason Warble, Brown (So., D – Bronxville, N.Y.)
Claire Marshall, Dartmouth (So., D – New Canaan, Conn.)
Shea Jenkins, Harvard (Fr., D – Newburyport, Mass.)
Chelsea Kibler, Penn (Jr., D – Leonardtown, Md.)
Alex Argo, Princeton (Sr., D – Baltimore, Md.)
Mikaila Cheeseman, Penn (Jr., G – Suffern, N.Y.)

Emma DeGennaro, Brown (Jr., A – Huntington, N.Y.)
Alexandria Absey, Columbia (So., A – Ridgewood, N.J.)
Ellie Carson, Dartmouth (Jr., A – Alexandria, Va.)
Olivia Penoyer, Yale (Fr., A – Manlius, N.Y.)
Grace Paletta, Cornell (So., M – Greenwich, Conn.)
Caroline Garrity, Harvard (Sr., M – Lynnfield, Mass.)
Michaela McMahon, Penn (Fr., M – Bardonia, N.Y.)
Erin Schafer, Brown (Fr., M – Pleasanton, Calif.)
Alyssa Adamo, Columbia (Jr., D – Bohemia, N.Y.)
Taylor Lis, Cornell (Jr., D – Princeton, N.J.)
Colleen Burke, Harvard (Sr., D – Westwood, Mass.)
Marge Donovan, Princeton (So., D – Catonsville, Md.)
Erin Tucker, Brown (Fr., G – Centerport, N.Y.)
Katie McGahan, Cornell (Jr., G – Atlanta, Ga.)
Kiera Vrindten, Dartmouth (Jr., G – Warren, N.J.

Tags: , , , ,


Latest Headlines