follow us on...

.@PennStateMLax’s Ament & Sabia (@fords_lacrosse) named Offensive, Defensive Players of Year by Big Ten

Tuesday, 30th April 2019

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 4/30/19
From Press Release

The 2019 Big Ten men’s lacrosse All-Conference teams and individual award winners were announced on Tuesday, with Penn State’s Grant Ament (Haverford School) named Offensive Player of the Year, Penn State’s Chris Sabia (Haverford School) named Defensive Player of the Year, Ohio State’s Justin Inacio and Rutgers’ Max Edelmann named Co-Specialists of the Year, Johns Hopkins’ Joey Epstein claimed Freshman of the Year and Penn State’s Jeff Tambroni was awarded Coach of the Year.

PSU’s Chris Sabia (left), Grant Ament

Ament led the Big Ten with 6.4 points per game and 5.0 assists per game. The junior is now the single-season point-leader at Penn State. He enters the postseason with 17 goals, 71 assists and 88 points.

Sabia scooped up 27 groundballs and caused 16 turnovers during the regular season, helping anchor a Penn State defensive unit that allowed just 9.41 goals per game in conference play.

Inacio currently ranks second in the Big Ten with 9.8 groundballs per game and third in faceoff percentage (.681). Inacio was a two-time Big Ten Specialist of the Week honoree this season.

Edelmann led the Big Ten with 13.2 saves per game and ranks third in goals against average with 12.0. Edelmann was also a two-time Big Ten Specialist of the Week honoree this season.

Epstein ranks second in the Big Ten in goals per game (3.0) and points per game (5.0) and fifth in assists (2.0). Epstein was a two-time Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week and a five-time Big Ten Freshman of the Week honoree this season.

Tambroni mentored Penn State to an 12-1 overall record and a No. 1 national ranking for eight consecutive weeks. He led the Nittany Lions to an undefeated Big Ten season at 6-0 and outright Big Ten Champions, for only the second time in conference history. The No. 1-seeded Nittany Lions enter the Big Ten Tournament having won nine games in a row, tied with Penn for the longest winning streak in the nation.

The complete list of All-Conference honorees and individual award winners is below.

First Team All-Big Ten
Joey Epstein, Johns Hopkins
Jared Bernhardt, Maryland
Curtis Corley (Shawnee), Maryland
Ryan Terefenko (Wilson), Ohio State
GRANT AMENT (Haverford School), PENN STATE
Mac O’Keefe, Penn State
Chris Sabia (Haverford School), Penn State

Adam Charalambides, Rutgers
Max Edelmann, Rutgers
Kieran Mullins, Rutgers

Second Team All-Big Ten:
Pat Foley, Johns Hopkins
Cole Williams, Johns Hopkins
Logan Wisnauskas, Maryland
Alex Buckanavage, Michigan
Nick DeCaprio (St. Augustine Prep), Michigan
Justin Inacio, Ohio State
Tre LeClaire, Ohio State
Gerard Arceri, Penn State
Colby Kneese, Penn State

Kyle Pless, Rutgers

Offensive Player of the Year: GRANT AMENT, PENN STATE
Defensive Player of the Year: Chris Sabia, Penn State

Co-Specialists of the Year: Justin Inacio, Ohio State & Max Edelmann, Rutgers
Coach of the Year: Jeff Tambroni, Penn State

ALL CAPS indicate unanimous selection

Sportsmanship Honorees
Cole Williams, Johns Hopkins
Louis Dubick, Maryland
Tommy Heidt, Michigan
Logan Maccani, Ohio State
Nick Spillane, Penn State
Owen Mead, Rutgers

Tags: , , , , ,


Latest Headlines