follow us on...

Wolf (@LowerMerionLax) leads Dallas Rattlers into MLL Championship game Saturday

Friday, 17th August 2018

Categories Boy's/Men's, Pro, Posted 8/17/18
From Press Release

The Dallas Rattlers will face the Denver Outlaws in the 2018 Major League Lacrosse (MLL) Championship Game in Charleston, S.C. on Saturday, Aug. 18 at 7 p.m. at MUSC Health Stadium.

The game will feature two sparkling examples of MLL success. The new Rattlers’ franchise that now calls Frisco, Texas home, led the league in regular season wins, while the league’s enduring example of postseason participation and annual attendance leader, Denver, will make its eighth championship game appearance in 13 years since joining the league in 2006.

“These two teams met twice this season, played nearly 129 minutes and were separated by a single goal in each game,” said MLL Commissioner Alexander (Sandy) Brown. “The fans who will attend this game will witness something very special. No matter the final result, the Steinfeld Trophy will reside in very deserving hands.”

The Rattlers 15-12 wire-to-wire victory over the talented New York Lizards, in front of more than 6,000 fans at the Ford Center at The Star on Saturday, gives first-year coach Bill Warder and his team a chance to win a championship in their first season in Texas. The Outlaws also secured their spot in the championship game, for the third consecutive season, with a 13-12 victory over the Chesapeake Bayhawks in Annapolis. It was Denver’s third straight road game and second straight win in an elimination game for veteran head coach BJ O’Hara, who is seeking his third Steinfeld Trophy in five seasons.

The Dallas roster features attackman and Warrior Offensive Player of the Year candidate, Jordan Wolf (Lower Merion, Duke’s LC), defenseman and Warrior Defensive Player of the Year candidate, Matt Dunn, and Brine Goalie of the Year candidate John Galloway.

Denver is led offensively by Colorado native, Eric Law, the 2017 Warrior Offensive Player of the Year and the 2016 Coca-Cola Championship Game Most Valuable Player, who has 25 goals and 13 assists in eight career playoff games. Mike Simon, who has won four Steinfeld Trophies during his career, leads a defense that hasn’t allowed more than 14 goals in its last six games. Dillon Ward, who took over for the injured starter Jack Kelly, has won two of three starts.

Tags: ,


Latest Headlines