follow us on...

UNC senior McCool (Moorestown) is again finalist for the Tewaaraton Award

Friday, 11th May 2018

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 5/11/18
From Press Release

North Carolina senior midfielder Marie McCool (Moorestown-NJ) is one of five finalists for the 2018 Tewaaraton Award, the highest individual honor in the sport of lacrosse. McCool is a finalist for the second year in a row, becoming the first UNC player to earn the distinction twice.

Marie McCool

The Tewaaraton Foundation announced its five men’s and women’s finalists on Thursday. Five men and five women were selected as finalists and will be invited to Washington, D.C., for the 18th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony after the season.

The five women’s finalists are McCool, Stony Brook senior attacker Kylie Ohlmiller, Boston College’s Sam Apuzzo, James Madison’s Kristen Gaudian and Maryland’s Megan Whittle.

McCool (2017, 2018) is the sixth Tar Heel to be a Tewaaraton finalist, along with Christine McPike (2002), Amber Falcone (2009), Jen Russell (2010), Becky Lynch (2012) and Kara Cannizzaro (2013). McCool is the first UNC player to be a finalist twice.

Senior Ela Hazar was one of the top 50 Tewaaraton candidates earlier this season.

The Tar Heels will host an NCAA Tournament second round game against either Virginia Tech or Georgetown on Sunday in Raleigh at Cardinal Gibbons High School.

McCool Bio Notes: The two-time defending ACC Midfielder of the Year (2017, 2018) … One of five finalists for the 2017 and 2018 Tewaaraton Awards … First-team All-ACC for the third year in a row … All-ACC Tournament Team … Leads UNC in draw controls with a career-high 131 (2nd in the ACC) … The UNC school record for draw controls (set by Sammy Jo Tracy in 2017) … Also leads Carolina in ground balls, caused turnovers and game-winning goals … Third on the team in assists and points … Midseason All-America by ILWomen … ACC Offensive Player of the Week on Feb. 27 after tallying four goals, one assist, eight draw controls and two caused turnovers in a win over top-ranked Maryland … One of two current college players who won gold medals with the U.S. World Cup team last summer … The 2017 ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year for women’s lacrosse … One of UNC’s team captains (with Naomi Lerner, Erin Kelly and Charlotte Sofield).



Latest Headlines