follow us on...

UNC’s McCool (Moorestown) named ACC Women’s Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Wednesday, 28th June 2017

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 6/28/17
From Press Release

North Carolina junior Marie McCool (Moorestown) has been named the 2017 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year and headlines the All-ACC Academic Women’s Lacrosse Team, as announced Tuesday by Commissioner John Swofford.

UNC’s Marie McCool (Moorestown)

A midfielder from Moorestown, N.J., McCool was a 2017 Tewaaraton Award finalist and a two-time IWLCA first-team All-American. She was named the ACC Midfielder of the Year and ranked second on the team in goals with 50 on the season. She is a two-time All-ACC first-team and All-Tournament team honoree and is one of only two current college players on the 2017 US Lacrosse World Cup team.

All eight of the league’s women’s lacrosse programs are represented on the All-ACC Academic Team, which includes seven student-athletes that earned IWLCA All-America honors in 2017. Fourteen members of the ACC All-Academic Team were named to the All-ACC Team.

Included in the 36-member team are two selections that earned their fourth All-ACC Academic Team honor – Notre Dame’s Alex Dalton and Cortney Fortunato, and four that earned recognition for the third straight year (Duke’s Kyra Harney and Maura Schwitter, Louisville’s Hannah Koloski, and Virginia’s Rachel Vander Kolk).

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports.

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.



Latest Headlines