follow us on...

Blake (@SwatLacrosse, @PennMensLax), Hayes (@DrexelMLax) to be inducted in IMLCA Hall of Fame

Friday, 28th July 2017

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 7/28/17
From Press Release

The Intercollege Men’s Lacrosse Coaches Association recently approved the nominations of the Hall of Fame Committee for the induction class of 2017. The inductees amassed a 1,538-846-11 record with multiple conference and national championships. Four are inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame and are members of an additional 10 halls of fame.

“This class, like those before, include leaders of the game from past to present. The International Lacrosse Federation’s U-19 champions cup is named after Tom Hayes, and the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association names their coach of the year after Morris Touchstone.” States J.B. Clarke, president of the IMLCA and head coach of 2017 DII National Champions Limestone College. “Each coach in this class has made significant contributions to the game, and I’m excited to witness their enshrinement.”

Inductees include Dave Cottle (Loyola University of Maryland and University of Maryland), Avery Blake, Sr. (Swarthmore College, University of Pennsylvania), Tom Hayes (Drexel University, Rutgers University), Sid Jamieson (Bucknell University), Jack Kaley (New York Institute of Technology), Dick Szlasa (United States Naval Academy, Washington & Lee, Towson University), and Morris Touchstone (United States Military Academy, Yale University).

The ceremony will take place on Friday, December 8, 2017 at the Baltimore Marriott Waterfront. To purchase tickets, visit

Blake played at Swarthmore from 1926-28 and was the team’s captain and student coach. He served as the head lacrosse coach at his alma mater from 1931 to 1959. Blake also served as president of the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association and was inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 1961.

In 29 seasons at Swarthmore, Blake won or shared eight Pennsylvania league titles. The 1941 team lost only one game, that being to eventual National Champion Johns Hopkins. The 1953 squad had the distinction of winning the USILA Class “B” National title, also losing just one game, to Hopkins.

Blake coached his son Avery, Jr., also an inductee into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame. Blake later went on to coach at Penn, retiring just prior to the move by college lacrosse to the NCAA tournament format.

Hayes was an All-American midfielder at Penn State before beginning a coaching career that lasted more than 30 years at Drexel (1969-74) and Rutgers (1975-2000). Hayes coached 58 All-Americans and took the Scarlet Knights to the NCAA tournament five times, and he earned the sport’s highest honor with his 1990 induction into the National Hall of Fame.

Tags: , ,


Latest Headlines