follow us on...

Many Philly players named to play in exhibition on Sept. 11 as part of @USLacrosse Grand Opening

Friday, 19th August 2016

Categories Boy's/Men's, International, Posted 8/19/16
From US Lacrosse

US Lacrosse and U.S. men’s senior team head coach John Danowski have named 44 players that will play in an exhibition game on Sept. 11 as part of the US Lacrosse Grand Opening celebration weekend. The roster includes 12 players from the 2014 U.S. team, which captured the silver medal at the Federation of International Lacrosse World Championship in Denver.

The men’s team will play an intra-squad scrimmage as part of a tripleheader on Sept. 11 at the new US Lacrosse headquarters in Sparks, Md. The tripleheader opens with the U.S. women’s team at 10 a.m., features the U.S. men’s team at 1 p.m. and closes with a special exhibition between the lacrosse teams from the Fire Department of the City of New York (FDNY) and the New York City Police Department (NYPD) at 4 p.m.

Tickets for the tripleheader are available for just $8 at<;.
The men’s and women’s national teams will also hold clinics for youth and high school players on Saturday, Sept. 10. More information is available at

The new facility is the result of a $15 million capital campaign entirely funded by private donors. The IWLCA Building at US Lacrosse National Headquarters is the centerpiece of the project. The three-level 45,000 square foot structure hosts expanded office and meeting space for the US Lacrosse staff, the Crum Family Education and Training Center, and locker rooms. A new National Lacrosse Hall of Fame and Museum, featuring the Richie Moran Hall of Fame Gallery, opens during the weekend festivities.

The building overlooks William G. Tierney Field, which will be the training home for the U.S. National Teams Program. The intimate, lighted facility boasts a permanent seating area for 500 fans and berms surround the field that will allow for additional spectators. GreenFields, a world leader in artificial turf systems, installed its state-of-the-art MX Trimension woven turf and woven Sine pad along with a TPE infill for the playing surface. Just above the seating area to Tierney Field is the Henry A. Rosenberg Jr. Promenade, which includes The Creator’s Game statue sculpted by Jud Hartmann that was moved from the old US Lacrosse headquarters. The promenade also includes 21 pillars honoring college lacrosse programs from around the country.
Prior to the FDNY-NYPD game, the 9/11 Memorial located adjacent to Tierney Field will be dedicated. More than 60 individuals connected to the sport of lacrosse died in the terrorist attacks on September 11, 2001.

The U.S. men’s team roster for the exhibition follows:

*^Ned Crotty, Rochester Rattlers, Duke ‘10
Matt Danowski, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Duke ‘08
*Marcus Holman, Ohio Machine, North Carolina ‘13
Eric Law, Denver Outlaws, Denver ‘13
Will Manny, Boston Cannons, Massachusetts ‘13
Kieran McCardle, Florida Launch, St. John’s ‘14
*Rob Pannell, New York Lizards, Cornell ‘13
Joey Sankey (Penn Charter), Charlotte Hounds, North Carolina ‘15

Peter Baum, Ohio Machine, Colgate ‘12
Mike Chanenchuk, Charlotte Hounds, Maryland ‘14
John Haus, Charlotte Hounds, Maryland ‘13
Myles Jones, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Duke ‘16
*^Paul Rabil, New York Lizards, Johns Hopkins ‘08
Tom Schrieber, Ohio Machine, Princeton ‘14
Jeremy Sieverts, Denver Outlaws, Maryland ‘09
Drew Snider, Denver Outlaws, Maryland ‘12
#Joe Walters, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Maryland ‘06

Faceoff Specialists
Brendan Fowler, Charlotte Hounds, Duke ‘14
*Greg Gurenlian (Springfield-Delco), New York Lizards, Penn State ‘06
Joe Nardella, Boston Cannons, Rutgers ‘15
Greg Puskuldjian, Ohio Machine, Adelphi ‘15

Short-Stick Defensive Midfielders

*Matt Abbott, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Syracuse ’09
Brent Adams, Boston Cannons, Fairfield ‘12
Jake Bernhardt, Ohio Machine, Maryland ‘13
Steve DeNapoli, New York Lizards, Hofstra ‘11
Will Haus, Charlotte Hounds, Duke ‘15
Jacob Richard (Henderson), New York Lizards, Marquette ‘16
Kevin Unterstein, New York Lizards, Hofstra ‘08

*Jesse Bernhardt, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Maryland ‘13
*Tucker Durkin (La Salle), Florida Launch, Johns Hopkins ‘13
*Michael Evans, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Johns Hopkins ‘09
Joe Fletcher, New York Lizards, Loyola ‘14
*Kyle Hartzell, New York Lizards, Salisbury ‘07
Matt Landis, Florida Launch, Notre Dame ‘16
John Locascio, Rochester Rattlers, Villanova ‘14
Mike Manley, Rochester Rattlers, Duke ‘12
Jackson Place (Episcopal Academy), Ohio Machine, Bucknell ‘14
Scott Ratliff, Atlanta Blaze, Loyola ‘13
Joel White, Rochester Rattlers, Syracuse ‘11
Chad Wiedmaier, Boston Cannons, Princeton ‘12

*Drew Adams (Springfield-Delco), New York Lizards, Penn State ‘09

Tyler Fiorito, Boston Cannons, Princeton ‘12
John Galloway, Rochester Rattlers, Syracuse ‘11
Brian Phipps, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Maryland ‘11

* – Member of 2014 U.S. Men’s Senior Team
^ – Member of 2010 U.S. Men’s Senior Team
# – Member of 2006 U.S. Men’s Senior Team

(Note: Capacity for the games at Tierney Field is 1,500, inclusive of bleacher seating for 500. All tickets are general admission, and seating is first-come, first-served. Fans on Sept. 11 may bring one collapsible camping chair per person for grass/hillside areas.)



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines