follow us on...

Vail Shootout: PA Express reaches Girls’ U19 finals, bows to Team Heather Leigh Albert

Thursday, 4th July 2013

Categories Club, Girl's/Women's, Summer tournaments, Posted 7/4/13

Results Wednesday from the 41st Vail Shootout in the U19 Girls’ Bracket

Gold Bracket: Team HLA 17, PA Express 5
Team HLA won its third straight championship with the impressive victory. HLA seized a quick 4-1 lead, but PA Express trailed by only two goals before Team HLA raced to an 11-3 halftime lead despite strong goaltending by PA Express’ McKenna Coyle (2014, Kennett, Penn State). Tournament MVP Zoe Stukenberg (2013, Marriotts Ridge, MD; Maryland) and Tess McEvoy (2013, Georgetown Visitation, DC; Yale) led the attack.

Team HLA coach Kathy Jenkins (St. Stephen’s & St. Agnes, VA) praised her team (mostly comprised of seniors) and the efforts of PA Express, which was all underclassmen.

“They were not supposed to be the top competition for us, but their team played very well throughout the tournament,” Jenkins said. “Our club came together very quickly and worked well together. It was fun to watch.”

Three PA Express players were named to the All-Tournament team: Devin Hassinger (Owen J. Roberts), Katie O’Donnell (Henderson) and Nicole Barretta (Downingtown East).

3rd Place: Team 180 17, Stars Blue 5

5th Place:
Utah Mamaci Elite 12, Puget Sound Select 10

7th Place: Wolverines 10, LaxNW Rippers 8

Final Rankings:
1st: Team HLA
2nd: PA Express
3rd: Team 180
4th: Stars Blue 2017
5th: Utah Mamaci Elite
6th: Puget Sound Select
7th: Wolverines
8th: LaxNW Rippers

All-Tournament Team
Lilly Newman – Oregon
Abigail Bergevin – Oregon
Jannel Daufenbach – Denver Summit
Shelby Piper – Team 180
Morgan Fee – Midwestern Force
Caroline Wiseman – Stars Blue
Devin Hassinger – PA Express
Katie O’Donnell – PA Express
Nicole Barretta – PA Express

Wyatt Whitley – Team HLA
Alex Mckay – Team HLA
Madeline Streech – Denver Summit
Zoe Stukenberg – Team HLA
Sean Albert – Team HLA


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines