follow us on...

Penn, Princeton, Penn State among 26 women’s teams in NCAA DI Tournament

Sunday, 5th May 2013

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, NCAA Women's Final Four, Posted 5/5/13

The NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Committee has selected the 26 teams to compete in the 2013 NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship.

For the seventh season in a row, Penn will compete for a national championship in women’s lacrosse after earning an automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament via a 10-7 win in the Ivy League Tournament championship game. Sunday evening, the Quakers learned their destination – a date with Virginia in a game to be played in Washington, D.C. at Georgetown. A Penn win earns the Quakers a game with the host Hoyas in the second round. The game is scheduled for 3 p.m.

The Quakers will be making their ninth overall trip to the NCAA Tournament when they take the field next weekend, and seventh via an automatic bid. Overall in the NCAA Tournament, Penn is 9-8, and 8-6 since 2007. The Quakers have reached three Final Fours under head coach Karin Corbett (2007, 2008, 2009) and played in the 2008 National Championship game. This will be the first-ever meeting between Penn and Virginia.

After an 0-3 start to the season, Penn has won 11 of its last 13 games – including a 7-0 mark in the Ivy League to claim a seventh consecutive regular season championship. Penn added a second Ivy League Tournament title to its collection this weekend, still the only Ivy program to complete the season sweep of Ancient Eight hardware.

Penn State earned the No. 7 seed and will host Canisius in the NCAA first round Friday.

Eight sites will host first and second-round competition on May 10 and 12, and four quarterfinal games will be played May 18 or 19. These preliminary-round games will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. The winners of the four quarterfinal games will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by Villanova University May 24 and 26 at Villanova Stadium in Villanova, Pennsylvania.

The semifinal games will be shown live on ESPN3 at 5 and 7:30 p.m. ET on May 24. The championship game will air live on ESPNU at 8 p.m. on May 26. Tickets for the championship games in Villanova can be purchased online at!tickets

Thirteen conferences, including the America East Conference, American Lacrosse Conference, Atlantic Coast Conference, Atlantic Sun Conference, Atlantic 10 Conference, Big East Conference, Big South Conference, Colonial Athletic Association, The Ivy League, Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference, Mountain Pacific Sports Federation, Northeast Conference and Patriot League had conference champions awarded automatic qualification for the 2013 championship. The remaining 13 teams were selected on an at-large basis.

Teams receiving Automatic Qualification:

America East Stony Brook
American Lacrosse Northwestern
Atlantic Coast Maryland
Atlantic Sun Jacksonville
Atlantic 10 Massachusetts
Big East Syracuse
Big South High Point
Colonial Athletic Association Towson
Ivy League Penn
Metro Atlantic Athletic Canisius
Moutain Pacific Sports Federation Stanford
Northeast Monmouth
Patriot League Navy

Teams Selected At-Large:
Boston College
Loyola (Md.)
North Carolina
Notre Dame
Penn State



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines