follow us on...

Men’s honors: Eastern dominates MAC Freedom Conference All-Stars, hosts semis Wednesday

Tuesday, 30th April 2013

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 4/30/13

The Middle Atlantic Conference Office released the 2013 post-season Awards for Men’s Lacrosse.

In addition to claiming Coach of the Year and Player of the Year honors, the Eagles put 14 players on the All-Conference lists. Ten individuals earned first team honors and four more players received second team recognition. Eastern went unbeaten through the six regular-season games and outscored their opponents 104-35.

Led by Freedom Conference Player of the Year Chris Farrar, the Eagles placed three attackmen on the first team. Farrar was tied for the team lead in total points, and he set a new Eastern single-season standard with 38 assists so far. Sophomore Grant Ferguson has 45 goals and led the conference in goals per game. Zac Ivy has 28 goals and 18 assists.

The Eagles put four midfielders on the first team. All three specialty midfield spots went to Eastern players. AJ Ryan (Phoenixville) was the first team face-off specialist. The senior won over 60% of his face-offs and had a more prominent role in defense and transition. Brendan Stouber and Ron Johnson were critical pieces in the Eastern defense that limited opposing offenses to under six goals per game.

Head Coach Kevin Wallace, who earned Coach of the Year Honors in just his second year as a head coach, cites the play of Johnson and junior defensive midfielder Shawn Farmer as critical pieces that allowed the Eagles to press out and challenge all over the field. Farmer was the short stick specialist on the second team.

Stouber (Avon Grove) is second on the team with 49 ground balls, and he utilizes the extra leverage to his advantage in shooting. He has six goals on only ten shots this year.

Matt Soldano was Eastern’s final representative on the first team midfield. Soldano, who often draws second defender as he dodges against a pole, has 18 goals and 14 assists so far.

Will Johnson and Eric Waibel both earned second-team midfield honors. Johnson is in Eastern’s career top-ten for goals and has a penchant for scoring big goals. Wiabel has emerged as a threat to score from distance this year. He is tied with Ivy for second on the team in man-up goals and has 19 for the year.

All three of Eastern’s close defensemen earned all-league recognition. Senior Ben Swan and sophomore Jordan Norris are on the first team. Both were recognized last year. Freshman Tyler Gehlhaus (Hatboro-Horsham) earned a second team nod. Only one Freedom Conference team scored more than six goals against the Eagles this year, and several of the goals that were given up came after the result had been determined and the first group of defenders had given way to younger players.

Aaron Benz is ranked nationally in goals against and save percentage. The senior goalie excels in the clearing game and is the consummate leader on the squad. The MVP of last year’s MAC Championship has made the big saves when called upon and repeats on as the First Team goalie in the Freedom Confrence.

The 14 representatives is the most ALl-Conference athletes on an Eastern team ever.

Eastern hosts King’s in the Freedom Conference semifinals on Wednesday at 3:30. Tickets are $5 for adults, $4 for seniors, $2 for students and children under 6 are free. Eastern University Student Development will pay admission for any current Eastern student with ID.

Player of the Year Chris Farrar Eastern
Rookie of the Year Chris Jacovino Arcadia
Coach of the Year Kevin Wallace Eastern

1st Team All-Conference
Position Name School Year Hometown High School
Attack Chris Farrar Eastern SR Jackson, NJ Jackson Memorial
Attack Grant Ferguson Eastern SO Rochester, NY Gates Chili
Attack Zac Ivy Eastern SR San Diego, CA Foothills Christian School

Midfield Jake Higgins FDU-Florham JR Bridgewater, NJ Bridgewater
Midfield Lenny Fox King’s SR
Marlton, NJ, Cherokee

Midfield Matt Soldano Eastern SR Davidsonville, MD Annapolis Area Christian
Midfield Jarrod Wiedow DeSales SR
Flanders, NJ, Morris Catholic

Defense Ed Dowse King’s JR Bayshore, NY St. Anthony’s
Defense Jordan Norris Eastern SO Lancaster, PA Manheim Central
Defense Ben Swan Eastern SR Rochester, NY Churchville-Chili
Long Pole Middle Brenden Stouber Eastern SR Landenberg, PA Avon Grove
Short Stick Specialist Ron Johnson Eastern SR Carlsbad, CA Santa Fe Christian
Face Off Specialist AJ Ryan Eastern SR Phoenixville, PA Phoenixville
Goal Keeper Aaron Benz Eastern SR Lousville, KY St. Xavier

2nd Team All-Conference
Attack Kyle Calabro Misericordia SR
Cortlandt Manor, NY Putnam Valley
Attack Sean McGuigan Misericordia SR Middletown, DE Middletown
Attack Mike O’Brien King’s JR Endwell, NY St. Anthony’s

Midfield Will Johnson Eastern SR Canandaigua, NY Canandaigua Academy
Midfield Nick Santillo Misericordia JR Oceanside, NY Oceanside
Midfield Eric Waibel Eastern SO West Grove, PA Avon Grove
Midfield Cory Weiss FDU-Florham SR Maplewood, NJ Columbia
Defense Drew Abatangelo Misericordia SR Montgomery, NY
Valley Central
Defense Tyler Gehlhaus Eastern FR Horsham, PA Hatboro Horsham
Defense Pat McDermott Arcadia SO Willow Grove, PA Upper Dublin

Long Pole Middle Peter Biondi FDU-Florham SR
Buffalo, NY Clarence
Short Stick Specialist Shawn Farmer Eastern JR Millersville, MD Old Mill
Face Off Specialist Casey Joffe Arcadia FR
Toms River East, NJ Toms River East
Goal Keeper Patrick Johnson Misericordia SO Montville, NJ
Montville Twp.

Honorable Mention
Defense Jared Hunt Misericordia FR Dillsburg, PA Northern York
Midfield Brennan Gmeiner DeSales SR New Market, MD, St. John’s Catholic Prep

Attack James Guerrier DeSales JR Floral Park, NY Kellenberg Memorial

Defense Matt Martins Misericordia JR Manorville, NY Easport-South Manor
Defense Joe Massa King’s JR Branchburg, NJ
Attack Kieran McMahon King’s JR Lindenhurst, NY Lindenhurst
Attack Ryan Rowse DeSales SO Jamsville, MD Urbana
Goalkeeper Matt Warnken DeSales FR Patchogue, NY Patchogue-Medford



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines