follow us on...

Episcopal Academy wins Basic Training Fall championship

Wednesday, 30th October 2013

Categories Boy's/Men's, High School, Posted 10/30/13

Episcopal Academy defeated Marple Newtown, 13-2, Sunday to claim the Basic Training Lacrosse Fall League championship at Shipley School.

EA wins Basic Training Lax title

Episcopal Academy won the Basic Training League championship

EA, which walked away with the Peter K. Ortale Memorial Trophy, got strong offensive work by Curtis Zappala, Tyler Haab and Conor O’Brien.

In the semifinals earlier Sunday, Episcopal Academy edged Spring-Ford, 8-7, in double overtime on a goal by O’Brien. EA rallied from a 5-3 halftime deficit to tie it 7-7 at the end of regulation. Brian Zappala was a standout in goal, especially in overtime.

The previous week, EA earned a 7-6 overtime conquest of top-seeded Malvern Prep. Matt Ernst garnered the game winner off the face off and the EA defense and Zappala held MP to one goal in the second half.

Matt Ernst was dominant at the face off X throughout the playoffs. The defense led by Raphael Furey, Drew Debacco, Chris Cusak and Matt Blommer.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines