follow us on...

Women’s lacrosse: Nineteen Philly grads will be coaching in Division I in 2012-13 season

Monday, 27th August 2012

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 8/27/12

With the recent hiring of three new Philly coaches, there will be 19 women that graduated from Philadelphia high schools coaching Division I lacrosse this year.

Haverford High and West Chester grad Cindy Timchal is presented with a special pair of running shoes by her Navy players after her 400th win last year (Courtesy of Navy Sports)

New hires this summer include Kate Henwood (Garnet Valley, La Salle University) at UC Davis, Regina Oliver (Pottstown) at Cincinnati and Heather Holt (Radnor) at Old Dominion. Holt had served as an interim coach for a year.

The list is headed by Navy’s Cindy Timchal (Haverford High, West Chester University), who won eight National titles at Maryland and is the winningest coach of all time (412 victories). She will be inducted this October as a member of the 2012 induction class to the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

Princeton’s Chris Sailer (Haverford High) has won three National titles and was selected to the US Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2008.

Temple’s Bonnie Rosen (Harriton) was inducted into the Eastern Pennsylvania Chapter of the US Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2009 and the US Lacrosse National Hall of Fame in 2010. Rosen started the program at Connecticut before coming back to Temple.

Duke’s Kerstin Kimel (Haverford High) is the only coach the Blue Devils have had and in her 17 seasons at the helm she has compiled a 216-104 record, leading the Blue Devils to six national semifinals, four ACC regular season titles, an ACC Tournament Championship and 15 consecutive NCAA Tournaments – the third longest current streak in the nation.

The list also features two current coaches within the National team system. Boston University’s Liz Robertshaw (Strath Haven) and Stanford’s Amy Bokker (Phoenixville) are both assistants with the US Elite team.

Yale’s Anne Phillips (Henderson) built Owen J. Roberts into a power and then took Franklin & Marshall to the Division III national crown in 2007.

Virginia’s Julie Myers (Harriton) has the rare distinction of being a player, an assistant coach and a head coach for Cavaliers teams that won the NCAA crown.

Amanda O’Leary (Spring-Ford, Temple) has taken Florida to the NCAA quarterfinals and semifinals after launching the program just three years ago.

Stephanie Ridolfi (Mount St. Joseph) of Holy Cross is the program’s all-time winningest coach and in 2006 and 2007 led the program to its first two Patriot League titles and NCAA Tournament appearances.

Also, four of the Ivy League’s eight teams are coached by Philly women: Sailer (Princeton), Phillips (Yale), Jenny Graap (Cornell/West Chester East), and Amy Patton (Dartmouth/Unionville).

Philly graduates coaching Division I lacrosse in 2012-13
Amy Bokker (Phoenixville, Stanford)
Laura Brand-Sias (Radnor, Rutgers)
Alison Fisher (Hatboro-Horsham, Lafayette)
Jenny Graap (West Chester East, Cornell)
Kate Henwood (Garnet Valley, UC Davis)
Heather Holt (Radnor, Old Dominion)
Kerstin Kimel (Haverford High, Duke)
Julie Myers (Harriton, Virginia)
Mandy O’Leary (Spring-Ford, Florida)
Regina Oliver (Pottstown, Cincinnati)
Amy Patton (Unionville, Dartmouth)
Anne Phillips (Henderson, Yale)
Stephanie Ridolfi (Mount St. Joseph, Holy Cross)
Liz Robertshaw (Strath Haven, Boston University)
Bonnie Rosen (Harriton, Temple)
Chris Sailer (Haverford High, Princeton)
Candance Taglianetti (Haverford High, La Salle)
Cindy Timchal (Haverford High, Navy)
Julie Young (Germantown Academy, Villanova)


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines