follow us on...

Episcopal Academy wins JV championship at Brian Houshower Memorial Tournament

Sunday, 28th October 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, High School, Posted 10/28/12

Episcopal Academy claimed the team championship in the JV Division of the 9th annual Brian Houshower Memorial Tournament Saturday at Downingtown West Middle School.

Episcopal Academy won the JV championship at the Brian Houshower Memorial Tournament Saturday

Coming off a stunning come-from-behind victory over Garnet Valley, EA avenged its only loss by toppling Downingtown West, 7-6, in the title game.

EA entered its final pool play game against Garnet Valley needing a win to secure a spot in the championship game. Episcopal Academy fell behind, 6-1 in the opening half, but rallied behind standout goaltending from Colin Reder, shutdown defense by Christopher “Kippy” Garino and key goals from Chris Friedman, Curtis Zappala and Eric Haab.

In the Championship game re-match against Downingtown West, EA stormed out to a 6-1 lead and relied on the defense and goaltending to pull out the victory.

Overall, 14 EA players scored; including Jack Royer, Haab, Peter Gayhardt, Tommy King, Austin Helms, Benjamin Valdes, Chase Markman, Friedman, AJ Cutrufello, Zappala, Perry Avgerinos, and long poles Garino, Cole Testaiuti, and Drew Hopkins.

EA members at Brian Houshower Tournament

Jack Royer
Eric Haab (Midfield)
Andrew Vetterlein
Peter Gayhardt
Tommy King


Austin Helms
Benjamin Valdes (F/O)
Chase Markman
Chris Friedman (F/O)
AJ Cutrufello
Curtis Zappala (F/O)
Michael Hinckley
Perry Avegerinos


Will Hunter
Ben Glidden
Drew Hopkins (LSM)
Kippy Garino
Chris Cusack
Cole Testaiuti (LSM)


Colin Reder
Dante Moyer (Attack/midfield)



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines