follow us on...

Duke’s L.C. wins Relentless Lax-O-Lantern championship at United Sports

Wednesday, 31st October 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Posted 10/31/12

The Duke’s Lacrosse Club 2016 claimed the team championship at the Lax-O-Lantern 7v7 tourney presented by Relentless Lacrosse last weekend at United Sports.

Duke’s champs – 1st Row L to R: Tommy McNamara (Haverford School), Cody Mazurek (Lasalle), Michael Sowers (Upper Dublin), Matt Binnion-inj. (Harriton), Adam Goldner-sitting(Malvern Prep), Jason Yoquinto-kneeling (Bishop Shanahan), Zach Methlie (Springfield), Beau Yerger-inj.(Salesianum); 2nd Row L to R: Ryan Murray (Malvern Prep), Cody Sweeney (Penn Charter), Saunders Healy (Downingtown East), Patrick Lyons (Salesianum), Luke Desperito (Haverford School), Forry Smith (Haverford School), Kevin Stump (St. Joes Prep), Coach Christmas, Coach Helm, Coach Lennon. Missing Chris Rivera

Split up into two teams (Dukes Blue & Dukes White), Dukes Blue went 6-0 on the day to win the High School A division title over a scrappy Cardinal O’Hara 8-4. Dukes Blue beat Brawlers 9-0; Cardinal OHara 12-4; Rustin 15-5; Lebanon Valley Rednecks 17-1 and Dukes White 9-4.

Dukes White started out rusty out of the gate and a scrappy Cardinal O’Hara team took advantage and prevailed, 5-4. Dukes White would regroup to win next game, 6-3 vs LV Rednecks, 9-7 vs Brawlers, before losing to Dukes Blue 4-9 and eventually winning last game vs Rustin 9-4.

Dukes White went 3-2 on the day. Dukes Lacrosse Club would like to thank Keith Jacoby and Relentless Lacrosse for the event.

Leading Scorers for Duke’s Blue were :

Forry Smith 15G and 5A
Mike Sowers 9G and 5A,
Luke Desperito 9G and 4A,
Kevin Stump 10G and 4A,
Adam Goldner 10G and 2A,
Cody Sweeney 7G
Tommy McNamara 4G and 2A
Cody Mazurek 4G and 1A
Patrick Lyons 2G and 4A
Chris Rivera 1G, 2A
Saunders Healy 1G
Ryan Murray 1G

Duke’s White
Zach Lipkin 10G and 2A
Ian Murray 6G and 1A
Keyveat Postell 5G and 3A
Bryce Reid 4G and 1A
Joe Robertson 3G and 2A
Nick Vernacchio 1G and 4A
Drew Gallant 2G
Jack Rapine 2G and 1A
Austin Clibanoff 1G, 1A


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.