follow us on...

Duke’s L.C. claims HS ‘A’ championship at Brandywine Lacrosse Classic

Tuesday, 30th October 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Posted 10/30/12

The Duke’s Lacrosse Club went 6-0 and won the Brandywine Lacrosse Classic High School “A” championship on Saturday at Brandywine Polo Fields in Toughkenamon.

Dukes LC champs – Standing 1st row L to R; Phillip Robertson, Zach Ward, David Wolfson, Sean McGovern, Colin Strange, Dustin Buchanon, Jon Warg, Connor Howell, Zach Hare, Coach Vetrone, Coach Fallon.
Standing 2nd row L to R; Mike Thompson, Coach Bohner, Coach Ikeda, Jace Liszka, Will Schreiner, Matt Dellacroce, Adam Graham, Zach Drake, Jeff Kern, Hunter Jones, Matt Petrick. Kneeling L to R; Matt Donnelly, Jake Pousson, Sean Valentino, Evan Wolf, Damase Bagbanon, Dylan Lee

Other local participants in this event were Twist, Mesa Fresh 2016 and Harriton. The Duke’s Tournament MVP was Zach Drake (Midfield, La Salle). The Duke’s Defensive MVP was Dustin Buchanan (LSM, Central Bucks) and Offensive MVP was Evan Wolf (Attack, Lower Merion).

The Dukes also received strong midfield play from Matt Donnelly (Clearview) and Dylan Lee (Garnet Valley) and strong attack play from Phillip Robertson (Salem, VA) and Hunter Jones (Abington). Standouts on defense included goalie Will Schreiner (Avon Grove), goalie Sean McGovern (CB East), defender Jeff Kern (Saucon Valley) and defender Adam Graham (Clearview). Matt Dellacroce was particularly strong on face offs.

The Duke’s were coached by Joe Vetrone, Brian Ikeda, Evan Bohner, and Chris Fallon, and would like to extend their appreciation to Jeff Long and Scott Ely of the Pattison Sports Group for hosting this first class event.

Churchville Blue Thudner (Md.) won the HS B championship.

Duke’s Scoring
Zach Drake – 11 goals & 1 assist
Evan Wolf – 8 & 3
Hunter Jones – 6 & 4
Matt Donnelly – 5 & 3
Dylan Lee – 5 & 1
Connor Howell – 3 & 2
Zach Ward – 2 & 3
Sean Valentino – 1 & 4
Phillip Robertson – 2 & 2
Jake Pousson – 2 & 2
Dustin Buchanan – 2 & 0
Jace Liszka – 0 & 2
Matt Dellacroce – 1 & 0
Colin Strange – 0 & 1
Damase Bagbonon – 0 & 1


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.