follow us on...

Bryant junior defenseman Poli (Downingtown East) is among Tewaaraton Award Watch List

Friday, 17th February 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 2/17/12
From Press Release

With the 2012 men’s lacrosse season kicking off at college campuses across the country, the Tewaaraton Award has announced its first Watch List, highlighting 73 of the nation’s top players on a list that includes Bryant University junior defenseman Mason Poli (Downingtown East) in its ranks.

Poli, a 2011 USILA Honorable Mention All-American and Northeast Conference First Team selection, started all 17 games for the Bulldogs in 2011, scoring eight goals out of the defense including the team’s only man-down tally. Poli led the Black and Gold with 34 caused turnovers, good for third in the all-time single-season program records, averaging two per game to rank ninth in the nation in the category.

Also a First Team All-New England pick and NEC All-Tournament Team selection a year ago, the junior defenseman anchors a backline that was ranked third nationally in man-down defense in 2011.

“This is such a thrill for Mason and certainly for Bryant lacrosse, as well,” said head coach Mike Pressler. ” Mason is our second player mentioned in the same breath as the Tewaaraton Award in our four years as a Division I program [Zack Greer].

“There are thousands of collegiate lacrosse players out there and just 73 young men named on that list, so for Mason to be highlighted among the best in the sport is an outstanding achievement for him and a highlight for us as the 2012 season begins.”

The Tewaaraton Award is presented each year to the top men’s and top women’s player across all three divisions of collegiate lacrosse. The Tewaaraton Award Watch List is updated throughout the season until the field is narrowed to 25 official nominees in late April. Five finalists will then be announced as the campaign draws to a close in May, and the winner will be named May 31, 2012 at the Smithsonian Institute’s National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

The last Bulldog to be named a Tewaaraton Award finalist was Zack Greer in 2009.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines