follow us on...

Philadelphia Freedom L.C. 2020 wins title at Brine Indian Summer tourney

Wednesday, 31st October 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Youth, Posted 11/1/12

The 2020 Philadelphia Freedom Lacrosse Club won its first championship at the Brine Indian Summer Lacrosse Tournament in the U11 A Division and has qualified for won a bid to the Dicks Tournament of Champions.

The 2020 Freedom team went 4-0 for the day, winning the championship game in dramatic fashion with an overtime victory.

Team 2020 beat a strong Fearless team, 8-4, to start. Freedom then won convincingly against Rock Lacrosse, 11-1, and toppled the Breakers, 8-3.

The Championship game against FCA Blue was a hard fought gamethat went into overtime with a 4-4 tie. Gabriel Goforth won the faceoff at the beginning of the OT to start a fast-break and assisted Nolan Smith, who scored to win the game.

Nico Iacovino played excellent in goal with nice stops and great clears. Defensively, the team was led by the three long poles Josh Toth, Collin Gucwa, and Matt Matour. Midfield which dominated on the face offs and all contributed with goals Cooper Chamberlain, Eric Spanos, Collin Pettine, Matt Traynor, Adam Zebrowski, and Gabriel Goforth.

The attack was led by Nolan Smith, Cole Benson, Cole Bertolami, Sean Kaiser, Dylan Kilroy and Jared Kolinsky. Coaches for the 2020 Freedom Team are Kevin Goforth, George Benson and Jay Kilroy.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.