follow us on...

Penn Charter’s Sankey, Chestnut Hill Academy’s Booker named as winners of Peter Ortale Memorial Award by Duke’s Lacrosse Club

Friday, 24th June 2011

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Features, High School, Posted 6/24/11

Penn Charter senior attackman and Chestnut Hill Academy senior goalie/midfielder Corbin Booker have been named as recipients of the annual Peter Ortale Memorial Fund Award by the Duke’s Lacrosse Club.

Peter Ortale Memorial Award winners for 2011 are Penn Charter's Joey Sankey (second from right) and Chestnut Hill Academy's Corbin Booker (not pictured). Accepting the scholarship awards for their teammates are Duke's L.C. captains and All-Americans (from left) Bryan Garrrahan (Archmere Academy), Matt Rambo (La Salle), and Ryan Ambler (Abington).

The scholarship awards of $1,500 may be used toward their college expenses. Sankey will play lacrosse at North Carolina next year and Booker will play at Brown.
The Award was created both to honor Ortale – a former Duke’s player who passed away while working at the World Trade Center in the 9-11 terrorist act – and to support the Duke’s mission to support tradition, sportsmanship and community service.

Sankey and Booker were chosen for their positive attributes and contributions to the Duke’s LC. Ortale, a Penn Charter graduate, starred at Duke. Ortale was 37 years old and working as a securities broker for Euro Brokers Inc. when the World Trade Center was attacked.

This year Sankey earned US Lacrosse All-American honors for the second year in a row and was named to the Under Armour All-American Team. He had 58 goals and 51 assists and led the Quakers to a 12-11 season and a berth in the Inter-Ac Invitational semifinals.

Sankey also was instrumental in organizing a major fund-raising program called “Score for the Cure” to raise money for the family of teammate Shane Carr, whose father, Dan Carr, the popular Philly lacrosse supporter, passed away just before the season began.

Booker has been a standout at both midfield and goalie for Chestnut Hill Academy and the Dukes L.C. He plans to study Media Broadcasting at Brown.

Last year’s inaugural winners of the Peter Ortale Scholarship were Upper Merion’s Nate Hare (Robert Morris) and Avon Grove’s Tim Golder (Penn State).

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.