follow us on...

Haverford School named National champion by Lacrosse Magazine; Conestoga is No. 3

Thursday, 11th August 2011

Categories Boy's/Men's, High School, Rankings, Posted 8/11/11

Haverford School capped a perfect season of boys’ lacrosse today by being named the national champion by Lacrosse Magazine – the fifth and final major media outlet to consider the Fords as the top team in the nation.

Haverford went 23-0 and won the Inter-Ac League and Inter-Ac Invitational championships. The Fords were No. 1 all season long in every poll by Under Armour/Inside Lacrosse, Max Preps and ESPN Rise and also were the No. 1 team in the final Laxpower Computer/Coaches Poll.

Meanwhile, Conestoga – which won its second straight Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association (PIAA) championship – finished third in the national rankings behind Jamesville-DeWitt (N.Y.). The Pioneers went 25-1 overall and lost only to Haverford School.

Lacrosse magazine’s August issue features a complete recap, including season-end national top-25 rankings, regional top-10 rankings and players of the year. The magazine was mailed to US Lacrosse members last week.

“We knew we had a big target on our backs and tons of pressure, but coach [John Nostrant] would say, ‘Don’t ignore it, embrace it,'” said senior goalie Conor Kelly (Notre Dame), the Co-Player of the Year. “We took it to heart and challenged ourselves not to be complacent.”

Gilman (Md.) star Conor Doyle was named LM’s National Player of the Year. He led the Greyhounds to their second Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference championship in three years with 33 goals and 32 assists, showing a penchant for scoring in clutch situations.

“What made his season truly outstanding was his development as a player within the team concept,” Gilman coach Brooks Matthews said. “Conor is a complete player.”

Lacrosse Magazine’s season-end national and regional rankings appear below, with players of the year for each. All rankings were compiled by LM staff, with consultation from high school coaches. Complete write-ups for all the teams appear as part of a special 19-page section in the August issue of LM.

Don’t get the magazine? Join US Lacrosse and its 350,000-plus members today to start your monthly subscription.


1. Haverford School (Pa., 23-0)
2. Jamesville-Dewitt (N.Y., 22-0)
3. Conestoga (Pa., 25-1)
4. Garden City (N.Y., 19-3)
5. Farmingdale (N.Y., 17-4)
6. West Islip (N.Y., 19-1)
7. Gilman (Md., 13-5)
8. Calvert Hall (Md., 17-2)
9. St. Anthony’s (N.Y., 14-3)
10. Georgetown Prep (Md., 18-3)
11. Deerfield (Mass., 15-0)
12. Landon (Md., 18-3)
13. Manhasset (N.Y., 17-2)
14. Chaminade (N.Y. 15-3)
15. McDonogh (Md., 15-4)
16. Gonzaga (D.C., 19-3)
17. Bridgewater (N.J., 20-2)
18. Darien (Conn., 19-3)
19. Duxbury (Mass., 19-3)
20. Lake Highland (Fla., 20-1)
21. Regis Jesuit (Colo., 18-1)
22. St. Paul’s (Md., 13-8)
23. Ithaca (N.Y., 18-2)
24. Mercer Island (Wash., 21-2)
25. Culver Military Academy (Ind., 19-3)

National Player of the Year: Conor Doyle, Gilman (Md.

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines