follow us on...

Wings release final roster for 25th Anniversary season; 14 are newcomers

Thursday, 23rd December 2010

Categories Boy's/Men's, Pro, Posted 12/23/10
From Press Releases

The Philadelphia Wings’ 2011 National Lacrosse League roster will feature 14 new faces as General Manager Johnny Mouradian and Head Coach John Tucker today made their final cuts. Twelve veterans from last season’s team will complete the roster.

“I am personally thrilled with the roster upgrades made throughout the process,” said Tucker. “We have overhauled our roster and have become much younger and more talented.”

Key players returning include Philadelphia native and veteran John Christmas (Lower Merion); Athan Iannucci, the NLL single season goal scoring record holder; Bill McGlone (Ridley) who ended the 2010 season with 35 points (19 goals, 16 assists) and 61 loose ball, David Mitchell and Drew Westervelt along with defenders Pat Heim (Conestoga), Shawn Nadelen, Jeff Reynolds and Taylor Wray (Lehigh assistant coach). Max Seibald and Kyle Sweeney (Springfield-Delco), both transition players, and veteran goalie Brandon Miller also return to Wings from the 2010 season.

The 14 players joining the Wings for this first time include goalies Ray Hodgkinson and Brodie MacDonald. Defense has changed the most with the addition of Matt Alrich, Paul Dawson, Steve Holmes (Germantown Academy), Brett Manney (Holy Ghost Prep/Delaware), Ryan McFadyen, Joe Smith, Dan Hardy, and Jeff Bigas (Penncrest). Forwards Brendan Mundorf and Alex Turner will dawn the Wings jersey for the first time along with transition player Ryan McClelland.

“Coaches and management have added 12 new athletes to the roster and we are extremely excited with the level of play we have seen so far,” said Mouradian. “All of our players, from rookies to veterans, are committed to maintaining that high intensity and doing whatever it takes to bring the wins back to Philadelphia.”

The Wings open their 2011 NLL season on Saturday, January 8 against the Boston Blazers at the Wells Fargo Center at 7 p.m.

2011 Wings Player Roster
Alex Turner F
Athan Iannucci F
Bill McGlone F
Bodie MacDonald G
Brandon Miller G
Brendan Mundorf F
Brett Manney D
David Mitchell F
Drew Westervelt F
Joe Smith D
John Christmas F
Kyle Sweeney T
Matt Alrich D
Max Seibald T
Pat Heim D
Paul Dawson D
Ray Hodgkinson G
Ryan Boyle F
Ryan McClelland T
Ryan McFadyen D
Shawn Nadelen D
Steve Holmes D
Taylor Wray D
Practice Player
Jeff Reynolds D
Dan Hardy D
Jeff Bigas D


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines