follow us on...

Tickets available for Montco Coaches Hall of Fame induction; La Salle’s Leahy to be honored

Saturday, 30th October 2010

Categories Boy's/Men's, High School, Posted 10/30/10

Tickets are available for the Ninth Annual Induction Banquet for the Montgomery County Coaches Hall of Fame, scheduled for Tuesday, Nov. 23 at Westover Golf Club, where La Salle coach Bill Leahy will be honored.

The other inductees include Roger Grove (Norristown High football coach), Joe Iacovitti (Plymouth Whitemarsh football coach), George Marinkov (Methacton High football coach) and Tom McGee (St. Pius X and Norristown High basketball coach).

The Lifetime Achievement Award will go to Villanova football coach Andy Talley, while Dave Coupe, Joe Ruggiano, Audrey Verso and Chuck Eppolitto will be entered into the Community Coaches Honor Roll at the banquet.

A raffle winner will receive an autographed Philadelphia Eagles football.

Dinner tickets are $60 each (tables of 8 – $440). Mail check to: Montgomery County Coaches Hall of Fame, 803 Northview Blvd., Norristown, Pa. 19401. Tickets also can be purchased from any advisory board member or by calling 610-2799220

Leahy, who has guided the Explorers to three state championships in his 19-year career, is the first lacrosse coach – male or female – to enter the Coaches Hall of Fame. He has put together a staggering 346-65 record in his 19 years. During that time La Salle has won state championships in 2004, 2008 and 2009 (first year of the Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association-sanctioned tournament).

His teams also have reached the state final three other times, including the latest appearance in 2010. Equally impressive has been La Salle’s dominance of the Philadelphia Catholic League under Leahy. His teams have won 16 Catholic League Championships and own a 233-3 record.

Leahy played lacrosse in college and professionally for the Philadelphia Wings before becoming a full-time coach. He was recognized by the Philadelphia Inquirer as Coach of the Year in 1997 and 2004.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines