follow us on...

Smith (Univ. of Delaware), Ricci (Conestoga) help Chesapeake Bayhawks win MLL championship

Sunday, 22nd August 2010

Categories Boy's/Men's, Pro, Posted 8/22/10

Alex Smith (University of Delaware) won 15 of 26 face-offs and scored once while Peet Poillon and Brian Carroll tallied three goals each as the Chesapeake scored four straight goals to open the fourth period and defeated the Long island Lizards, 13-9, today in the Major League Lacrosse championship game before 6,445 at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium in Annapolis, Md.

Defenseman Kyle Hartzell was named the MVP for fourth-seeded Chesapeake while Danny Glading and Kyle Dixon each scored twice. Chris Garrity made 10 saves. PT Ricci (Conestoga) contributed as a reserve for the Bayhawks.

For third-seeded Long Island, goalie Drew Adams (Springfield-Delco) made 13 saves in goal and Mike Gurenlian (Springfield-Delco won six of 14 face-offs.

In Saturday’s semifinals, Chesapeake defeated the top-seeded Boston Cannons, 13-9, as Garrity made 18 saves. Ricci scooped three groundballs.

Long Island downed second-seeded Denver as Adams made 12 saves and Gurenlian won seven of 15 draws. Stephen Berger led the Long Island attack with five goals and Zack Greer added four.

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines