follow us on...

Philly boys selected to play in 3rd annual adidas National Lacrosse Classic

Tuesday, 29th June 2010

Categories Boy's/Men's, High School, Recruiting, Posted 6/29/10

Adidas has released the rosters for the 500 boys’ underclass All-Americans selected to play in the 3rd annual adidas National Lacrosse Classic July 5-8 at the Maryland Soccerplex in Boyds, Md.

Team Philly – coached by Neshaminy’s Josh Hanlon – will be one of 20 squads competing for the adidas national title and in a showcase for NCAA and MCLA college lacrosse coaches. The winning team qualifies to play Internationally for the Brogden Cup in Orlando, Florida later in the year.

Players from 28 states and Canada will compete in a showcase tourney designed to better prepare student athletes for the college admissions and athletic recruitment process by uniting the top high school underclassmen players and college lacrosse coaches. Regional team tryouts are conducted by high school coaches during the year. Players are selected to represent their region at the National Games by the high school coaches based on their performance at the tryouts. Tryouts are open to players entering grades 10,11 and 12 next fall.

Besides the participants selected for the Philly team, two more Philly players – Penncrest’s Andrew Caldwell and St. Joseph’s Prep’s Rob Watts – have been selected to play for the Central PA team. Chris Snyder, former coach at Penn Manor, is the coach at Central PA.

The 2010 adidas National Lacrosse Classic will begin on July 5 with player check-in and Opening Ceremonies. Jack McGetrick, NCAA Division I Men’s Head Coach at Bellarmine University is scheduled to address the athletes. Each team will practice and attend a college admission seminar on Tuesday, July 6. The adidas National Games begin on July 7 from 8 a.m.-9 p.m.

There will be four divisions of 5 teams each. The top two teams in each division will advance to the adidas Elite 8 round on Thursday morning, July 8th. College coaches in attendance will rank the top offensive and defensive players for selection to the adidas All-Star teams that will play after the Elite 8 and prior to the Final Four and National Championship Games. The winning team will qualify to play Internationally for the Brodgen Cup.

The following is the roster for the Philly team:
Philadelphia roster
Allen Kevin A 2011 Hellertown PA Salisbury
Barrow Kevin D 2011 Landenberg PA Avon Grove
Bodek Blair D 2011 Philadelphia PA Penn Charter
Bryant Steven A 2011 Millersville PA Archbishop Spalding
Buysse Michael M 2012 Malvern PA Malvern Prep
Carroll Max D 2012 Downingtown PA Downingtown West
Chapman Steven M 2011 Sewell NJ Washington Township
DeCarlo Jim D 2011 Conshohocken PA La Salle
Duffy Chris D 2012 Willow Grove PA Abington
Dunn Patrick M 2012 Sinking Spring PA Hill School
Finor Matthew M 2011 Churchville PA, Council Rock South
Freeborn Austen A 2011 Wilmington DE Salesianum School
Greco Anthony D 2011 Abington PA Abington
Gulyas Kevin M 2012 Allentown PA Allentown Central Catholic
Holak Harrison G 2012 Doylestown PA Central Bucks East
Joka Colin A 2011 Conshohocken PA Plymouth Whitemarsh
Leyden Mike A 2011 Havertown PA Haverford High
Logan Zack M 2011 Downingtown PA Downingtown West
Martin James M 2012 McLean VA Georgetown Prep
McDannell Zach D 2012 Morrisville PA Pennsbury
Nowell Ryan D 2011 Thornton PA Bayard Rustin
O’Donnell Dylan D 2011 Media PA Penncrest
Pisko Nick A 2011 Glenside PA Abington
Sabia Andrew G 2012 Conshohocken PA Roman Catholic
Seuffert Graham M 2013 Wilmington DE Salesianum School
Vetter Christopher A 2012 Doylestown PA Central Bucks East


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.