follow us on...

Men’s recruits: Haverford School has 11 seniors headed to Division I colleges

Friday, 19th November 2010

Categories Boy's/Men's, High School, Recruiting, Posted 11/19/10

Eleven seniors at Haverford School have either signed National Letters of Intent or made verbal commitments to play Division I lacrosse next year.

(Click on photo to open show, hover to side to change photo)

The Fords’ recruits posed for picture day Wednesday on the final day of the early signing period. Seven of the players have committed to Ivy League schools and four more signed their Letters of Intent during the early signing period.

The players include: Long stick midfielder Goran Murray (Maryland), goalie Conor Kelly (Notre Dame), midfielder Matt Walters (Syracuse), midfielder/attackman Carl Walrath (Virginia); face-off specialist/midfielder Joe McCallion (Pennsylvania), attackman Brent Tomlinson (Brown), goalie Colin Heffernan (Dartmouth), defenseman Alex Beatty (Princeton), attackman Hup Hupfeldt (Pennsylvania), midfielder Brendan McGrath (Princeton), and midfielder Grove Stewart (Harvard).

Last year the group helped the Fords share the Inter-Ac League title with Malvern Prep and win the Inter-Ac Invitational championship with a dramatic, 6-5 overtime win over Episcopal Academy in a game at Cabrini College.

Haverford School finished 20-4 last year and was ranked No. 2 in Pennsylvania and 6th in the nation by Lacrosse Magazine. This year the Fords are expected to have a national ranking in the top five.

Suits and ties photo:
Sitting L to R: Goran Murray (Maryland), Conor Kelly (Notre Dame), Matt Walters (University), Carl Walrath (Virginia).

Standing L to R: Coach Travis Loving, Coach Mark Petrone, Joe McCallion (Pennsylvania), Brent Tomlinson (Brown), Colin Heffernan (Dartmouth), Alex Beatty (Princeton), Hup Hupfeldt (Pennsylvania), Brendan McGrath (Princeton), Grove Stewart (Harvard), Head Coach John Nostrant.

In their uniforms:
Front row: Brendan McGrath, Goran Murray, Joe McCallion, Grove Stewart, Carl Walrath, Conor Kelly

Top row: Brent Tomlinson, Colin Heffernan, Alex Beatty, Matt Walters, Hup Hupfeldt


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines