follow us on...

Harvard freshman Schwartz (La Salle) is named Pre-season Co-Rookie of the Year by NEILA

Thursday, 11th February 2010

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 2/11/10
From Press Releases and Staff Reports

Harvard freshman attackman Peter Schwartz (La Salle) has been named a Preseason Co-Rookie of the Year by the New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (NEILA).

Schwartz, who led the Explorers to back-to-back state championships and was a two-time All-Americana and First Team ppick, is joined by Fairfield’s Marshall Johnson.

Massachusetts will start the season as the top ranked team in New England ahead of number two Brown and number three Harvard in the NEILA Coaches Poll..

Two Connecticut schools, Fairfield and Yale, round out the top five. The remainder of the poll is a three-way tie for sixth between Dartmouth, Quinnipiac, and Sacred Heart.

Brown’s Thomas Muldoon was elected as the Preseason Player of the Year. A senior from Oakton, VA, he was also selected to the Preseason All-New England Team as an attacker along with junior teammate Andrew Feinberg (Owing Mills, MD). The Bears are also represented by senior Reade Seligmann (Essex Falls, NJ) in the midfield and junior defenseman Peter Fallon (Baltimore, MD).

Two players, Bob Hayes and Diogo Godoi, will represent the top-ranked Minutemen on to the preseason team. Hayes, a senior from Rockville Centre, NY, plays in the midfield, while classmate Godoi, of Loudon, NH, plays defense. UMass junior Casey Rahn (Princeton, NJ) also made the team as a long stick midfielder along with Bryant junior Anthony Iannello (Lake Ronkonkoma, NY). Senior Andre Hennessey (Wading River, NY) also represents the Bulldogs as the team’s faceoff specialist.

The remaining attack players are Dartmouth senior Ari Sussman (New Haven, CT) and Harvard junior Dean Gibbons (Garden City, NJ). In the midfield are, Harvard senior Jason Duboe (Long Grove, IL), Yale sophomore Greg Mahony (Mercer Island, WA), and Fairfield sophomore Brent Adams (Norwalk, CT).

Hartford sophomore Scott Bement (Canandaigua, NY) was selected as the top goalie for the preseason squad. Dartmouth senior Casey Hingten (Carlsbad, CA) and Harvard senior Billy Geist (Arnold, MD) fill the final defensive positions.

The season gets underway with UMass visiting Sacred Heart on Friday February 12 at 3:00 pm. In the first weekend of action, Bryant travels to North Carolina. The remaining teams begin play starting on or after February 20.

2010 NEILA Preseason Poll

1. Massachusetts

2. Brown

3. Harvard

4. Fairfield

5. Yale

6. Dartmouth

6. Quinnipiac

6. Sacred Heart

2010 NEILA Preseason All-New England Team

Co-Rookie of the Year:

Marshall Johnson Fairfield Fr. Canandaigua, NY

Pete Schwartz Harvard Fr. Jenkintown, PA


Thomas Muldoon Brown Sr. Oakton, VA

Ari Sussman Dartmouth Sr. New Haven, CT

Dean Gibbons Harvard Jr. Garden City, NY

Andrew Feinberg Brown Jr. Owing Mills, MD


Jason Duboe Harvard Sr. Long Grove, IL

Bob Hayes UMass Sr. Rockville Centre, NY

Greg Mahony Yale So. Mercer Island, WA

Brent Adams Fairfield So. Norwalk, CT

Reade Seligmann Brown Sr. Essex Falls, NJ


Diodo Godoi UMass Sr. Loudon, NH

Peter Fallon Brown Jr. Baltimore, MD

Casey Hingten Dartmouth Sr. Carlsbad, CA

Billy Geist Harvard Sr. Arnold, MD


Scott Bement Hartford So. Canandaigua, NY

Long Stick:

Anthony Iannello Bryant Jr. Lake Ronkonkoma, NY

Casey Rahn UMass Jr. Princeton, NJ


Andrew Hennessey Bryant Sr. Wading River, NY

Player of the Year:

Thomas Muldoon Brown Sr. Oakton, VA



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines