follow us on...

Women’s Division III all-league: Neumann’s D’Ambrosio earns CSAC Player of the Year; Haverford’s Shaner Young is Coach of the Year in Centennial Conference

Tuesday, 5th May 2009

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 5/5/09

Neumann College’s Gabby D’Ambrosio was named the Colonial States Athletic Conference (CSAC) Player of the Year and Gwynedd-Mercy College mentor Sarah Quintois was named the CSAC Coach of the Year.

D’Ambrosio led the Knights this season with 68 goals and 13 assists for 81 points in 17 games. She scored her 200th career goal recently against Swarthmore.

Meanwhile, league champion Cabrini earned 10 postseason honors, including four first-team selections.

For Cabrini, junior attack Amanda Alexandrowicz (Ridley), junior midfielder Erin Nollen (Henderson), senior defender Chrissy Regan (St. Hubert) and junior goalkeeper Kate Schmid (St. Hubert) received First Team CSAC recognition.

See full list of Philly college players who have earned all-conference honors for 2009

CSAC Women’s Lacrosse All-League picks with Philly ties

Player of the Year: Gabby D’Ambrosio, Neumann College

Coach of the Year: Sarah Quintois, Gwynedd-Mercy College

First Team All-Conference:


Amanda Alexandrowicz (Ridley), Cabrini College

Colleen Dellostretto (Upper Moreland), Gwynedd-Mercy College


Chrissy Regan (St. Hubert), Cabrini College

Pam Moyer (Boyertown), Gwynedd-Mercy College

Kerri Sinclair, Neumann College


Gabby D’Ambrosio, Neumann College

Erin Nollen (Henderson), Cabrini College

Victoria Geppert (Pennridge), Gwynedd-Mercy College


Kate Schmid (St. Hubert), Cabrini College

Second Team All-Conference:


Shannon Carabba (Springfield-Montco), Gwynedd-Mercy College

Alex Bohen (Upper Merion), Neumann College

Rebecca Whiteman (Great Valley), Immaculata University


Christina Romano (St. Hubert), Cabrini College

Jenn Norris, Immaculata University


Lynda Kaufmann (Chichester), Cabrini College

Kristie Pollock (Unionville), Gwynedd-Mercy College

Kacie O’Neill (Sun Valley), Immaculata University

Honorable Mention:

Jaime O’Hanlon (Springfield-Delco), Cabrini College

Kristen Vernon, Cabrini College

Colleen Finnegan, Neumann College

Anna Scholl, Cabrini College

Trisha Timony, Gwynedd-Mercy College

Kathleen Sinclair, Neumann College

Tiffany Baker, Neumann College

Rachael DiCicco, Neumann College

Courtney Davis (West Chester East), Cabrini College

CSAC Sportsmanship Award Recipients:

Monica Souders, Cabrini College

Amanda Dombroski, Cedar Crest College

Trisha Timony, Gwynedd-Mercy College

Brittany Worthington (Methacton), Immaculata University

Dani Schnapf, Neumann College

Haverford’s Shaner Young is CC Coach of the Year

Haverford College first-year head women’s lacrosse coach Julie Shaner Young (Germantown Academy) was named Centennial Conference Coach of the Year.

Under Young’s direction, Haverford nearly garnered the fifth playoff spot which would have capped off a tremendous turnaround for a team that won just one conference game last season. Young led the Fords to a 10-6 record which was the first winning record posted by the program since a 9-7 campaign in 2005. The 10 wins are the most in a single-season since 2000 when that team also finished with 10 victories. The four conference wins were the most by the program since 2005.

First team

A-Jen Pritchard, Franklin & Marshall Sr Media, PA / Penncrest

M-Shannon Summers, Franklin & Marshall Sr North Wales, PA / Hill School

D-Melissa Grigsby, Swarthmore Sr West Chester, PA / West Chester East

Second team

A-Josie Ferri, Haverford Fr Yardley, PA / Pennsbury

M-Elizabeth Cannon, Ursinus Jr Garrison, NY / James I. O’Neill

D-Sarah Brant, Ursinus Jr Collegeville, PA / Hill School

Honorable Mention

Pos / Name Class Hometown / High School

A-Lexie Kob, Dickinson Jr Collegeville, PA / Spring-Ford

M-Ashley Bevington, Franklin & Marshall Sr Schwenksville, PA / Hill School

Coach of the Year: Julie Shaner Young, Haverford College



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines