follow us on...

US National team roster to be released Monday; four Philly players vie for final 23 spots

Friday, 30th October 2009

Categories Boy's/Men's, Features, Posted 10/30/09

Four Philadelphia players will take their last shots this weekend at making the final 23-man roster of the US National team that will compete next summer in the Federation of International Lacrosse championships at Manchester, England.

Goalie Brian Dougherty (Episcopal Academy, Maryland graduate, Penn assistant coach), defender D.J. Driscoll (Malvern Prep, Notre Dame), long stick midfielder Kyle Sweeney (Springfield-Delco, Georgetown, Philadelphia Wings) and midfielder Kevin Cassese (Duke, Lehigh men’s coach) have made it through to the final stage of the tyryouts.

The final exhibition game will be played Saturday at Stony Brook University at 1 p.m. and on Monday the roster will be released.

Also, on Jan. 15-17 the U.S. men’s team makes first appearance together at the US Lacrosse National Convention in Baltimore, Md. On Jan. 30-31 the squad will make its debut on the field at the Champion Challenge in Orlando, Fla. (to be aired on ESPNU).

In the spring the team will perform youth clinics and during the summer it will play in exhibition games – one is tentatively slated to be in the Philadelphia area, according to Philadelphia Lacrosse Association board member Tim Udinski.

The World Championships in Manchester, England ( will be held July 10-24 of 2010. The US had won six straight titles until bowing to Canada, 15-10, in the finals in 2006. The US team is coached by Mike Pressler (Bryant University) and one of the assistants is La Salle College High assistant coach and athletic director Tony Resch.

2010 U.S. Men’s Training Team:

M Matt Abbott – Washington Bayhawks (Syracuse ’09)

M Stephen Berger – Long Island Lizards (Washington ’04)

A Ryan Boyle – Boston Cannons (Princeton ’04)

M Steven Brooks – Chicago Machine (Syracuse ’08)

A/M Kevin Buchanan – Washington Bayhawks (Ohio State ’08)

M Kevin Cassese – Boston Cannons (Duke ’03, Lehigh men’s coach)

D Joe Cinosky – Toronto Nationals (Maryland ’09)

A/M Ned Crotty – Duke ‘09

A Matt Danowski – Long Island Lizards (Duke ’08)

M Kyle Dixon Washington Bayhawks (

G Brian Dougherty – Long Island Lizards (Maryland ’95, Episcopal Academy)

D DJ Driscoll – Chicago Machine (Notre Dame ’06, Malvern Prep)

FO Chris Eck – Boston Cannons (Colgate ’08)

G Adam Fullerton – Denver Outlaws (Army ’08)

M John Glynn – Chicago Machine (Cornell ’09)

M Kyle Harrison – Denver Outlaws (Johns Hopkins ’05)

G Mickey Jarboe – Quicksilver LC (Navy ’00)

A Kevin Leveille – Chicago Machine (UMass ’03)

A Mike Leveille – Chicago Machine (Syracuse ’08)

D Eric Martin – Denver Outlaws (Salisbury ’04)

D Ryan McClay – Boston Cannons (Cornell ’03)

LSM Parker McKee – Duke ’10

A Brendan Mundorf – Denver Outlaws (UMBC ’06)

D Shawn Nadelen – Washington Bayhawks (Johns Hopkins ’01)

LSM Nick O’Hara – Toronto Nationals (Duke ’07)

M Stephen Peyser – Long Island Lizards (Johns Hopkins ’08)

D Nicky Polanco – Long Island Lizards (Hofstra ’02)

M Matt Poskay – Boston Cannons (Virginia ’06)

A Ryan Powell – Big Foot LC (Syracuse ’00)

M Paul Rabil – Boston Cannons (Johns Hopkins ’08)

D Jack Reid – Boston Cannons (Massachusetts ’06)

M Max Seibald – Denver Outlaws (Cornell ’09)

M Chris Schiller – Sailin’ Shoe LC (Penn State ’99)

FO Alex Smith – Washington Bayhawks (Delaware ’07)

D Brian Spallina – Long Island Lizards

M Matt Striebel – Chicago Machine (Princeton ’01)

LSM Kyle Sweeney – Boston Cannons (Georgetown ’03, Springfield-Delco)

M Joe Walters – Toronto Nationals (Maryland ’06)

A Drew Westervelt – Denver Outlaws (UMBC ’07/Philadelphia Wings)

M Matt Zash – Long Island Lizards (Duke ’06)

D Lee Zink – Denver Outlaws (Maryland ’04)

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.