follow us on...

Havrilla Orcutt (Class of 1997) and Traynor (1991) to be inducted into Conestoga Hall of Fame Saturday

Friday, 30th October 2009

Categories Boy's/Men's, Features, Girl's/Women's, Posted 10/30/09

Lacrosse greats Amy Havrilla Orcutt and Greg Traynor will be two of four people inducted into the Conestoga High School Sports Hall of Fame at a reception and dinner Saturday at 6 p.m. at St. David’s Golf Club in Wayne.

Havrilla Orcutt (Class of 1997) was a multi-sport athlete at Conestoga who first swam and then concentrated on soccer and lacrosse. She starred in lacrosse at North Carolina where she was an All-American and played for the South at the Atlantic Coast Conference All-Star Game. She also recently served as the head coach at Agnes Irwin School.

Traynor (Class of 1991) broke the Pennsylvania state scoring record, and was an All-American. He was a two-time All-American at Virginia and was a Gold Medal winner on the 1998 USA National Team. He played Major League Lacrosse from 2001-2003 for the Boston Cannons and the New Jersey Pride. This year he was inducted into the Eastern Pennsylvania Chapter of the US Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

The Athletic Hall of Fame was established in 2005. To be considered for the Hall of Fame, an athlete must have graduated from Conestoga at least 10 years previously. A coach must be retired. The Hall now includes 27 athletes, four coaches and a special contributor. The 2009 Class of Inductees also includes:

John Edward (Jed) Guenther, swimming, Class of 1986 — A two-time individual state champion while attending Conestoga, Guenther went on to the University of Carolina at Chapel Hill where he was a two-time ACC champion.

Jason LaMotta, wrestling, Class of 1995 — As a four-year wrestler at Conestoga, LaMotta’s overall record included 133 wins, the most in Conestoga history. He was a Pennsylvania state champion and was inducted into the Southeast Pennsylvania Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2003. While at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, he was a two-time ACC place-winner and two-time NCAA qualifier.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.