follow us on...

Friends Schools League wrapup: Germantown Friends girls, Shipley boys claim league crowns

Thursday, 28th May 2009

Categories Girl's/Women's, High School, Posted 5/28/09

Germantown Friends capped a memorable 14-4 season by handily defeating Shipley, 15-7, to repeat as Friends School League girls’ lacrosse champions.

The Tigers, who went 9-0 in the regular season, dominated in both playoff games, also handing Westtown a 19-6 defeat. In the championship game May 16, GFS goalie Samie Francis made 16 saves and Betsy Sachs pumped in six goals while Lydia Kring had four goals and Iris Williamson added three.

Lucy Rabinowitz and Annie Morrissey each added one goal and, Lydie McKenzie contributed two assists. The GFS defense, led by seniors Camilla Warren and Avery Williamson playing in tandem with Shelby Tucker and Ava Samuels, held Shipley in check.

The Tigers bolted to a 9-3 halftime lead and received strong games from Sierra Carter-Gordon and Lyles Swift-Farley.

The 2009 Friends Schools League Champions:

12th- Camilla Warren, Lydia Kring, Avery Williamson;

11th- Samie Francis, Lucy Rabinowitz, Shelby Tucker, Betsy Sachs;

10th- Lilly Tyson, Zoe Feingold, Elena Karras, Ava Samuels, Lyles Swift-Farley, Sierra Carter-Gordon;

9th- Isabella DiDio, Annie Morrissey, Lydie McKenzie, Iris Williamson.

Friends Girls’ All-League Team

First Team

Emily Belkoff, Friends’ Central, 11

Emily Brodsky, Friends’ Central, 11

Jaime Hyman, Friends’ Central, 10

Gracie Pearlman, Friends’ Central, 11

Kaitlyn McCaffrey, Friends’ Central, 11

Liz Stevens, George School, 12

Ali Piltch, Shipley, 11

Tara Stokes, Shipley, 11

Kendall Roberts, Shipley, 11

Avery Safford, Shipley, 9

Candace Connolly, Westtown School, 12

Meghan Morley, Westtown School, 12

Katie Stutz, Moorestown Friends, 12

Lauren Mannion, Moorestown Friends, 11

Allison Dugan, Academy of the New Church, 12

Iris Williamson, Germantown Friends, 9

Lydia Kring, Germantown Friends, 12

Betsy Sachs, Germantown Friends, 11

Avery Williamson, Germantown Friends, 12

Honorable Mention

Brooke Truskey, Shipley, 11

Stephanie Feinman, George School, 11

Kerstin Lindrooth, Academy of the New Church, 11

Lyles Swift-Farley, Germantown Friends, 10

Camilla Warren, Germantown Friends, 12

Shelby Tucker, Germantown Friends, 11

Becca Dahle, Friends’ Central, 9

Julie Necarsulmer, Westtown School, 10

Jill Keeney, Shipley, 11

Kelly McGlynn, Abington Friends, 10

Shipley caps strong season with boys’ championship

Shipley claimed the boys’ crown with a 6-4 victory over Academy of the New Church, wrapping up a 17-3 campaign (7-0 in the regular season). The 17 wins was a school record.

The Gators took a 4-3 lead on a Pat Sullivan goal early in the second half, but ANC tied it, setting up the game-winner by Justin Miller off a feed by Mike Litner with 10:50 remaining in the game.

Julius Mouser ld Shipley with a goal and three assists

This year’s Gator defense set the school record for both overall and league goals against average. They gave up only 4.1 goals against (the old record was in 4.67 in 2005).

In league play, Shipley only allowed 15 goals in 7 games (2.14 goals a game).  The old record was last year with 18 goals in 7 games (2.57 goals a game)

Shipley sophomore Mouser set a school record with 55 goals and 27 assists for 82 points. Senior goalie was strong all year and 19 saves for the Gators in the title game.

Mouser, Tanenbaum, Sullivan and defender Arne Andersen earned first-team all-Friends Schools League honors while Litner and Will Strathaman were honorable mention picks.

Friends Boys’ All-League Team

First Team

Steve Rohtla, Academy of the New Church, 11

Dana Ayers, Academy of the New Church, 12

Hayden Schmucker, Academy of the New Church, 12

Ian McCoyd, Westtown School, 11

David Foppert, George School, 12

Franklin Cuevas, George School, 11

Ben Smith, Moorestown Friends, 11

Julius Mouser, Shipley, 10

Arne Andersen, Shipley, 12

Jack Tanenbaum, Shipley, 12

Pat Sullivan, Shipley, 12

Honorable Mention

Ryan Asplundh, Academy of the New Church, 12

Connor Osborne, Moorestown Friends, 12

Tim Yingling, Moorestown Friends, 12

Dylan Sio, George School, 12

Mike Litner, Shipley, 9

Will Strathmann, Shipley, 12



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines