follow us on...

Division I college wrap: St. Joe’s women fall to UMass, 15-14, in A-10 championship game

Monday, 27th April 2009

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 4/27/09

Jackie Lyons scored the game-winning goal with eight seconds left in overtime to give the Massachusetts women’s lacrosse team a 15-14 win over Saint Joseph’s Sunday in the Atlantic 10 Championship.

Lyons scored with 3:16 remaining in regulation to send the game into overtime and then netted the game-winner to send UMass (11-7) to its first NCAA Tournament since 1985.

Lyons was voted the Tournament MVP after posting a seven goal, six assist performance in two games for the Minutewomen.  She had five goals and three assists in the final.

UMass dominated the draw, setting a new Atlantic 10 record for draw controls in a game and in a championship with 28 and 41, respectively.  Meghan Reddy was the main reason for the top seed’s domination, collecting an A-10 record 12 in today’s game.  Reddy’s tally is also the third highest in NCAA history.

The Minutewomen jumped out to a 2-0 lead but the Hawks soon took over, outscoring UMass 10-1 over the next 24 minutes to make it 10-3 with 3:29 left to play in the first half.  UMass rebounded with a three-goal run but Saint Joseph’s (10-8) slipped one past Katie Florence with 12 seconds left to take a 11-6 lead at halftime.

The teams traded goals for the first 10 minutes of the second half, giving the Hawks a 13-8 advantage at the 21:11 mark.  UMass put together a four-goal surge, thanks to two straight from Lyons to make it a one-goal game (13-12) with 14 minutes remaining.  Helene Tursi answered with an unassisted goal at 11:34 to make it 14-12 but UMass scored back-to-back goals to force the overtime period.

Jessica Westlake led Saint Joseph’s with four goals and one assist.

Suzy Herlihy stopped six shots in goal for Saint Joseph’s, while UMass’ Katie Florence had seven

The first round of the 2009 NCAA Tournament begins on May 10.

All Championship Team: Jackie Lyons, Massachusetts (MOP); Suzy Herlihy, Saint Joseph’s; Sam Tajirian (Springfield-Delco), Richmond; Holly Drown, Massachusetts; Jenna Martino, Saint Joseph’s; Helene Tursi, Saint Joseph’s; Abby Renninger (Conestoga), Saint Joseph’s; Meghan Reddy, Massachusetts; Meghan Cullinan (West Chester East), Saint Joseph’s; Merritt Cosgrove, Massachusetts; Audrey Joy, George Washington; Jessica Westlake, Saint Joseph’s.

Stanford 18, California 13

Julie Christy (Conestoga) scored twice and Bess Siegfried (Agnes Irwin) added one goal as the Cardinal (12-4) won their fifth consecutive Mountain Pacific Sports Federation championship.

Notre Dame 12, Georgetown 10

Maggie Tamasitis (Boyertown) had two assists as the Fighting Irish claimed the Big East championship. Mary Beth Brophy (Archbishop Carroll) scored once for the Hoyas and Kelly Barnes (Radnor) had an assist.

Louisville’s Bergan Foley (Gwynedd Mercy Academy) made the All-Tournament team. Foley scored four goals against Georgetown in a 21-12 semifinal loss Friday night.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines