follow us on...

Cassese, Dougherty, Driscoll and Sweeney take their shots at US World Championship team

Friday, 25th September 2009

Categories Boy's/Men's, Features, Posted 9/25/09

Four Philadelphia men’s players will begin their quest this weekend to make the final cuts for the U.S. squad that will go to the FIL World Championships next summer in Manchester, England.

Kevin Cassese (Lehigh men’s coach), Brian Dougherty (Episcopal Academy grad, Penn assistant), D.J. Driscoll (Malvern Prep grad) and Kyle Sweeney (Springfield-Delco grad, Philadelphia Wings) will have three weekends of training tryouts to make the 23-man roster. Forty players made it this far after a three-day tryout during the spring at Bryant University.

This week’s training weekend will be held at West Point, N.Y. The next session is Oct. 18 at Annapolis, Md. The final training is Oct. 31 at Stone Brook University, N.Y.

Dougherty is a former Philadelphia Barrage standout who now plays for the Long Island Lizards of Major League Lacrosse. Sweeney (Springfield-Delco) is also a former member of the Barrage who currently plays for the Boston Cannons and also stars for the Philadelphia Wings of the National Lacrosse League. Sweeney was an All-Star this year for the Cannons.

Cassese is yet another former Barrage star who recently retired from the Cannons. Driscoll plays for the Chicago Machine.

The 2010 world championship will be the first men’s championship conducted by the newly formed FIL, which is a result of the merger of the International Federation of Women’s Lacrosse Associations and the International Lacrosse Federation.

2010 U.S. Men’s Training Team:

M Matt Abbott – Washington Bayhawks (Syracuse ’09)

M Stephen Berger – Long Island Lizards (Washington ’04)

A Ryan Boyle – Boston Cannons (Princeton ’04)

M Steven Brooks – Chicago Machine (Syracuse ’08)

A/M Kevin Buchanan – Washington Bayhawks (Ohio State ’08)

M Kevin Cassese – Boston Cannons (Duke ’03)

D Joe Cinosky – Toronto Nationals (Maryland ’09)

A/M Brandon Corp – Boston Cannons (Colgate ’09)

A/M Ned Crotty – Duke ‘09

A Matt Danowski – Long Island Lizards (Duke ’08)

G Brian Dougherty – Long Island Lizards (Maryland ’95)

D DJ Driscoll – Chicago Machine (Notre Dame ’06)

FO Chris Eck – Boston Cannons (Colgate ’08)

G Adam Fullerton – Denver Outlaws (Army ’08)

M John Glynn – Chicago Machine (Cornell ’09)

M Kyle Harrison – Denver Outlaws (Johns Hopkins ’05)

G Mickey Jarboe – Quicksilver LC (Navy ’00)

A Kevin Leveille – Chicago Machine (UMass ’03)

A Mike Leveille – Chicago Machine (Syracuse ’08)

D Eric Martin – Denver Outlaws (Salisbury ’04)

D Ryan McClay – Boston Cannons (Cornell ’03)

LSM Parker McKee – Duke ’10

A Brendan Mundorf – Denver Outlaws (UMBC ’06)

D Shawn Nadelen – Washington Bayhawks (Johns Hopkins ’01)

LSM Nick O’Hara – Toronto Nationals (Duke ’07)

M Stephen Peyser – Long Island Lizards (Johns Hopkins ’08)

D Nicky Polanco – Long Island Lizards (Hofstra ’02)

M Matt Poskay – Boston Cannons (Virginia ’06)

A Ryan Powell – Big Foot LC (Syracuse ’00)

M Paul Rabil – Boston Cannons (Johns Hopkins ’08)

D Jack Reid – Boston Cannons (Massachusetts ’06)

M Max Seibald – Denver Outlaws (Cornell ’09)

M Chris Schiller – Sailin’ Shoe LC (Penn State ’99)

FO Alex Smith – Washington Bayhawks (Delaware ’07)

M Matt Striebel – Chicago Machine (Princeton ’01)

LSM Kyle Sweeney – Boston Cannons (Georgetown ’03)

M Joe Walters – Toronto Nationals (Maryland ’06)

A Drew Westervelt – Denver Outlaws (UMBC ’07/Philadelphia Wings)

M Matt Zash – Long Island Lizards (Duke ’06)

D Lee Zink – Denver Outlaws (Maryland ’04)



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.