follow us on...

Temple’s Sloan Green to receive NACWAA Lifetime Achievement Award

Thursday, 18th September 2008

Categories Features, Girl's/Women's, Posted 9/18/08

Former Temple women’s lacrosse coach and Hall of Fame member Dr. Tina Sloan Green will be one of five women honored in October by the National Association of Collegiate Women Athletics Administrators (NACWAA) with a 2008 Lifetime Achievement Award.

Sloan Green – who attended Girls’ High in Philadelphia and graduated from then West Chester State College – is one of the most decorated college coaches in Temple athletics history, remaining the only coach to win three national championships. In 18 seasons as women’s lacrosse coach, she compiled a gaudy 207-62-4 record with a .758 career winning percentage, leading the Owls to three National Championships and 11 consecutive NCAA Final Four appearances.

Sloan Green also holds the distinction of being the first African-American head coach in the history of women’s intercollegiate lacrosse.

Her finest season came in 1988 when she led the Owls to their only perfect record (19-0), climaxed by a 15-7 victory over Penn State for the NCAA crown. Her teams had a record-setting 29-game winning streak during the 1983-84 and 1984-85 seasons.

She also coached the Temple field hockey team for five years and elevated that program to national prominence.

Along with her success on the field, Sloan Green’s work off the field may rival any of her athletic achievements. As a professor of Sport and Culture in Temple University’s College of Education, she served as co-principal investigator of Sisters in Sports Science, an initiative funded by the National Science Foundation, and Director of the Temple University National Youth Sports Program.
In 1992, she co-founded the Black Women in Sport Foundation. She has also co-authored two books, Black Women in Sport and Modern Women.

Sloan Green was inducted into the Temple Athletics Hall of Fame in 1994. She has also been introduced into the West Chester Universities Hall of Fame, the Philadelphia Chapter of the Lacrosse Hall of Fame and Women’s Sport Foundation Hall of Fame. Professor Sloan Green competed on the U.S.A Women’s Lacrosse Team (1969-1973) and the U.S. Women’s Field Hockey Squad (1966).

The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented annually to athletics administrators who have dedicated their professional careers to advancing women in sport.

The 2008 Lifetime Achievement and Legacy Award Luncheon, sponsored by NIKE, will be held on Sunday, Oct. 12, 2008, at the NACWAA National Convention in Atlanta, GA at the CNN Omni Hotel. Sloan joins Dr. Leanne Grotke-Andreas (California State University Fullerton), J. Elaine Hieber (Iowa State University), Dr. Katherine Ley (posthumously) (Capital University) and Dr. Donnis Thompson (University of Hawaii Manoa) as the 2008 recipients.

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines