follow us on...

Philly players make preseason All-American lists for Inside Lacrosse

Monday, 15th December 2008

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 12/15/08

Loyola’s P.T. Ricci (Conestoga), Virginia’s Ken Clausen (Hill School) and Cornell’s Matt Moyer (Tower Hill, DE; of Chadds Ford) were named to the Inside Lacrosse Preseason Division I All-American squad.

Ricci, a senior, is a long-stick midfielder while junior Clausen is a defender and senior Moyer is a defender.

Named to the second team were Ohio State junior midfielder James Green (Central Bucks East) and Penn State senior goalie Drew Adams (Springfield-Delco).

The honorable mention picks featured Penn senior attacker Craig Andrzejewski, Penn junior face-off specialist Justin Lynch, Drexel junior defender Matt McCormick (Malvern Prep) and Notre Dame junior defender Mike Creighton (Malvern Prep).

Drexel, meanwhile was listed as the No. 23 team in the Top 25 men’s poll.

The Philly area is represented in the Division II All-American squad with Mercyhurst senior defender Matt Spahr (Penncrest).

In Division III, Cabrini is listed as the No. 6 team while Haverford College is No. 14.

Cabrini senior attacker Scott Reimer (Henderson) and Gettysburg senior midfielder Tom O’Donnell (La Salle) are on the first-team All-American squad. Denison senior midfielder Dan Maude (Haverford School) is on the second-team unit and Cabrini junior attacker Casey Grugan (Ridley) is on the third-team squad.

Honorable mention picks include three more Cabrini players: sophomore midfielder Paul Skulski (Garnet Valley), sophomore defender Coleman Till (Downingtown East) and junior long-stick midfielder Steve Heaps. Also listed are Washington College senior face-off specialist Thayer Damm (La Salle), Wesley College senior defender Kirk Waldie (Ridley) and Widener junior defender Nick Politarhos (Ridley).

The All-American lists and preseason polls are published in the annual Face-Off edition of the magazine.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.