follow us on...

Duke’s LC wins third straight Champ Camp title at Johns Hopkins

Thursday, 31st July 2008

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Posted 7/31/08

The Duke’s Lacrosse Club routed the New Hampshire Tomahawks, 10-1, to claim its third straight Champ Camp National Championship at Johns Hopkins Sunday.

The Duke’s reached the finals by toppling Tri-State Black, 8-7, and also had a key 7-6 overtime win over Team Headstrong in the playoffs.

The Duke’s roster featured goaltenders Niko Amato (La Salle) and Andrew O’Connell (Malvern Prep), defenders Billy Conners (Malvern Prep), Tucker Durkin (La Salle), Andrew Fusselbaugh (Friends’ Central), Ty Souders (Emmaus), Stephen O’Hara (St. Joe’s Prep), Mason Poli (Downingtown East) and C.J. Mooney (Malvern Prep) and long stick middies John Gill (Unionville) and Stocky Euler (Haverford School).

The offensive midfielders were Mic DeBellis (Emmaus), Peter Schwartz (La Salle), Andrew Sih (Germantown Academy), Rich Rambo (Abington), Joey Jones (Abington), Dave Alyanakian (Strath Haven), Bobby Hill (Malvern Prep) and Shane Sturgis (Downingtown East).

The defensive middies were Austin Rogusky (Conestoga), Mark Jackson (Malvern Prep), Zack Donnelly (Radnor), Derek Bogorowski (La Salle) and Ryan Snyder (Reading, Kent School, Ct.). Bogorowski and Snyder also were standout on the face-offs.

The attackmen included Kevin Forster (La Salle), Randy Forster (La Salle), Westy Hopkins (La Salle), Jordan Wolf (Lower Merion), Eric Warden (Garnet Valley) and Dan Jones (Penncrest).

Duke’s Team 2 also enjoyed a strong tourney, going 7-1 and finishing ninth overall.

The Team 2 midfield was led by Grady Stevens (Unionville, also did face-offs), Ahmad Zachary (Lower Merion), Jeff Heath (St. Joe’s Prep) and Adam Yee (Penncrest). The defense was led by Joe Lisicky (defense). The goalies were Conor Kelly (Haverford School) and Hank Altschuler (Lower Merion).

The attack was led by Joey Sankey (Penn Charter), Tyler Novotny (Spring-Ford), Andrew Mongeluzzi (Lower Merion) and Tim Golder (Avon Grove).


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.