follow us on...

Wings legend Finneran will have to wait for NLL Hall of Fame induction

Monday, 30th August 2021

Categories Box lacrosse, Boy's/Men's, Pro, Posted 8/30/21
From Press Release

Kevin Finneran will have to wait a little bit longer to make it to the Hall of Fame.

The Philadelphia Wings legend was supposed to be inducted into the National Lacrosse League Hall of Fame last weekend in Buffalo.

Kevin Finneran

But due to Covid-19 issues with those traveling across the border from Canada, the league postponed the event, slated for Friday, to a later date.

“We have also chosen to postpone our formal NLL Hall of Fame induction, which was scheduled for the day prior, to a later date to be determined, said NLL Commissioner Nick Sakiewicz in a news release.

Finneran last year moved back to the Philly region from Florida and trains players in clinics and camps.

Kevin “Coach Finn” Finneran Hall of Fame Bio:

Kevin Finneran played 13 seasons with Detroit, New England (Blazers), Philadelphia and Toronto. The forward is a five-time champion: four with Philadelphia (1994, 1995, 1998 & 2001) and one with Toronto (2003). He was named to the All-League First Team in 1998 and twice Second Team (1994 & 1996). Finneran retired as the all-time league leader with 143 games played, sixth all-time in goals (235), third all-time in assists (329), fifth all-time in points (564) and 11th in loose ball recoveries (631). Finneran held the record for longest consecutive games played streak at 139 games and was the all-time leading scorer by an American prior to Casey Powell breaking his record.

Since retiring from his playing career, Finneran served as the head coach and general manager of Major League Lacrosse’s Chicago Machine. As of 2020, Finneran – who began his coaching career as head coach at The Shipley School in the 1990s – has returned to the Philadelphia area and is offering private training for small groups and individuals both in person and virtually.

Other inductees are: Players Colin Doyle, John Grant Jr., Casey Powell, Shawn Williams, Pat McCready, Regy Thorpe, Steve Toll; and referees Roy Condon and Bill Fox (builders category).


Latest Headlines